top of page
Search

WEIGHTED 8

I was about to attend a meeting in my headquarters, one I had to attend myself. This was one of the few occasions I went to the company office.


Ever since my princess was born, I preferred to work from my home office unless there’s a meeting or an emergency. That way I had time for my family, time to see Elize more often since she also appointed her friend Sophie as her stand in CEO after Elton’s birth in order to have more time with the kids.


The meeting was about to start when my phone rung in my pocket, I took it out to disconnect the call only to pick it up instantly.


‘Elize? Elize what happened?’ I asked panicking, it had been over a year since the last time she initiated a conversation or picked up my calls, much less calling me.


“Elize, talk to me please.’ I urged.


Then I heard a sob and I panicked even more. ‘TTTTT - The boys. They …I’m sorry…’ She was a sobbing mess, I couldn’t even understand a word of what she was saying.


‘Is Claus next to you?’ I asked.


‘YYY - yes.’ She replied.


‘Give him the phone.’ I said.


‘Hello, Sir.’ Claus’ voice came.


‘What the hell happened that got her acting like that? What’s wrong with Ethan and Elton?’ I questioned.


‘We are in the hospital, the kids got in an accident, they are in a critical condition.’ he answered.


The phone slipped through my hands. My whole world crumbled down, darkness is all I saw, that’s the colour of its ruins, I bolted from my chair shouting ’meeting adjourned.’


After what felt like decades I finally arrived at the hospital. I quickly parked, unbuckled, and sprinted to the door.


‘Excuse me!’ I said to the receptionist.


‘Yes, how can I help you?’ The old lady asked kindly.


‘I’m looking for Ethan and Elton Robert.’ I said.


‘Yes, they are in the OR on the fifth floor.’ she said after searching for awhile.


I took the elevator. The whole elevator ride to the fifth floor felt like a torture, a living hell. All I thought about was how bad was their condition to make Elize unable to form a coherent sentence? Will I able to handle seeing her crying?


When the elevator stopped to my destination, I froze. I saw Elize sitting on the floor next to the seats with her back leaning against the wall, knees up, and holding her head in her hands.


She had blood on her white shirt, and her hands. Claus was standing on the other side of the wall looking at her in a somewhat sad expression.


‘Elize!’ I called when I approached her.


She didn’t respond, only Claus acknowledged me. ‘Sir..’ he nodded in my direction.


‘How did this happen?’ I asked him still looking at Elize.


‘We don’t know, sir. We were at the other side of the road waiting for the kids’ bodyguards to bring them when all of a sudden Elize screamed Ethan’s name and started running towards them. When I looked up I saw Ethan holding his brother’s hand and crossing the road alone when a black tinted car coming in full speed towards them. By the time Elize reached them it was a bit late. The car already hit them.’ He finished.


‘Are you saying that the bodyguards I fucking hired for my children’s safety let them cross a road full of cars alone, and that someone was waiting for the opportunity to run over them.’ I stated.


‘I’m sorry, sir.’ he apologised.


‘I DON’T FUCKING NEED YOUR APOLOGY! MY FAMILY’S SECURITY DETAILS WAS YOURS AND LUCA’S RESPONSIBILITY.’ I roared.


‘Fucking bring Luca, and the others in my office in an hour, and I want you to investigate about what happened exactly.’ I ordered.


He nodded and went on to execute my orders.


I walked towards Elize, and crouched next to her. I was about to speak when the door opened and the doctor came out.


‘Hello, Mr Robert!’ He greeted.


I stood up and shook his hand, ‘How are they, doctor?’ I inquired.


‘They are doing fine for now, but they have to stay here for at least a week to watch over their condition, just in case some complications rise. Especially Ethan, young master.’ he replied.


‘What’s wrong with my boy? Why would any complications rise?’ Elize who was quiet all the time asked standing up from her position.


I’m sorry, Mrs Robert, but he had the most of the injuries. I’m guessing when the crash happened he shielded his brother and took most of the impact that’s why we need to keep him here for sometime to make sure no internal bleeding occurs.’ He explained.


‘The fuck are you talking about!’ She shouted at him, and was about to attack him when I held her still, and thanked the doctor who went away from her at the first chance he got.


‘Hey, hey! Calm down! Nothing will happen to him. You heard him he’s okay, he just wants to make sure nothing goes wrong in the future.’ I tried to calm her.


‘I don’t know what I’ll do if anything happened to my children. I will kill myself before I witness that!’ She said weakly and started sobbing in my arms. ‘I can’t lose another person I love. Once was more than enough,’ she added.



‘You won’t, I’ll make sure of it.’ I promised hugging her tighter.


We spent some time basking in each others comfort when a clear of a throat separated us. ‘I’m sorry for interrupting, sir, but I have some information.’ Claus said. ‘Well, shoot away already!’ I ordered when he didn’t elaborate.


‘You wouldn’t like what I’m about to disclose.’ He said, his gaze drifting from me to Elize.


‘Stop with the fucking suspense and tell me already!’ I said exasperated.


‘I know who ordered the hit and run on the kids.’ He declared.


I felt Elize tensing against me. I held her tighter. ‘It’s your previous PA, Angela.’ He disclosed.


As soon as he did, Elize abruptly pried herself away from me, and looked at me in the eyes. Her once broken and sad expression turned into a vengeful one, one I’ve never seen.


‘I’m so sorry, Elize.’ I tried to apologise.


‘I thought you said you got rid of HER!’ She yelled.


‘I did, I thought by firing her and ruining her career she would learn to leave me alone!’ I explained.


‘Firing her? Ruining her career? That’s how you got rid of that gold digging slut?’ She asked incredulously.


‘What would you have me do other than that!’ I exclaimed.


‘Nothing. You do nothing but sit there watching how the forbidden fruit you coveted ruin your family, and kill your children.’ She stated. ‘But I’m not like you. Nothing threatens my children’s lives and walk away unscathed, especially not a worthless whore.’ She hissed dangerously before turning to leave.


‘What are you going to do, Elize?’ I questioned.


‘Finishing what the slut started.’ She said without halting her steps, nor turning around.


She fished her phone out, and dialled someone before putting it on her ear, ‘Hello, cuz. I have a favour to ask.’ She said when the call connected.


I’ve never seeing her this wrathful. Her eyes held a fire that would burn the slut who caused our children to lay on a hospital bed fighting for their lives.


For the first time I’m actually scared of the consequences of what she might do. What I think she’d do.


However, I didn’t bother trying to stop because I knew she would listen to no one at the moment.






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page