top of page
Search

WEIGHTED 20

CONTINUED FROM THAT DAY..


‘Nothing.’ He answered.


I raised an eyebrow at him. ‘Really? Are you going to start lying to me, now?’ I asked in a scolding tone.


‘No, I - I just don’t want to bother you.’


‘It would bother me if you develop the habit of getting sad in a dark corner without letting your family help you.’ I said. ‘Jacob, do you see me as your mom?’ I asked when he didn’t answer.


‘Of course, more than that actually, you’re the only person who saved me and my siblings from the darkness that almost consumed us.’ He stated.


I was a bit shocked, and saddened that a nine year old boy can talk about such negative feelings in an expert tone, like he knew the exact definition to such a bitter concept. No child should be forced to go through what they went through.


‘Then, you should know that no son is to keep a secret from their parents, right?’


‘Yes, mom.’ He agreed. ‘I…I’m just…’ he sighed. ‘I always think of my parents when I see you and Mr - Papa with your children.’ He corrected himself.


‘What do you think about?’ I ask.


‘Questions…!’


‘Such as?’ I urged.


‘Why would they leave their own flesh and blood on the streets? Why couldn’t they love me like you and papa do your children? Why they gave birth to me if they were going to give me away the moment I was born?’ He said on the verge of tears.


I knelt in front of him, and forced him to look at me with my hands on his cheeks. ‘I have answers for all of your questions.’ I informed him, his features lit up when he heard me.


‘Really?’


‘Yes, you see everything happens for a reason, and the reason those people left you was so that we can find you, so that you have a much bigger and happier family than anyone in this whole world. A family that loves you so much.’ I explained.

‘You really think that?’ He asked, and I nodded. ‘Then why did I suffer so much? I never did anything wrong, always loved and treated everyone nice. Why me and the siblings at the Second House suffered so much before we met you?’ His tears were freely spilling from his eyes by now.


‘Because that way you’ll value what you got now, you will never take the many graces you have for granted. Only those who suffered losses can understand the true meaning of the small things in life, and it was because of your kindness that God gave you and everyone you love a second chance. A better chance.’ I said wiping his tears. ‘You understand me, right?’ I asked.


He nodded his head. ‘I understand. Thank you, mom.’ He said hugging me tightly.


‘Why thank me?’ I asked ruffling his cute dishevelled hair.


‘I thought you wouldn’t answer me honestly, like the sisters do when I ask those kind of questions. I’m glad you did though, the way I got to see things from a different light.’ He said sniffing in the crook of my neck. ‘I’m glad you allowed me to call you mom.’ He whispered lowly hugging me tighter in his small hands. It wasn’t meant for me to hear, but I heard it since his mouth was next to my ear.


‘I’m glad you’re my son too, honey.’ I said caressing his back soothingly, and kissed his temple. ‘Now go play with your siblings I bet they’re looking for you by now.’ I said.


He nodded wiping his tears, and turned around to leave. “Wait, honey, have you seen Acacia and Arcadia?’ I asked him before he could leave.


‘Yes, Ethan took them to their room when they slept on the couch in the living room.’ He said before running towards his siblings way.


I made my way upstairs to my princesses’ room. I opened the door, and there was Ethan peacefully sleeping with both his sisters on Arcadia’s Queen - Sized bed. Acacia was sleeping on his chest, and Arcadia snuggled to his side.


I marched towards them, and freed Acacia from his hold as gently as possible before putting her in her crib.


Then went back to the bed to wake him up.


‘Ethan, Baby, Wake up.’ I gently patted his shoulder.


Mom?’ He said sleepily while rubbing his eyes.


‘Come on, son, let’s have dinner, then you can sleep.’ I said helping him up.


‘What about Arcadia and Acacia, don’t they have to eat too?’ He asked when we headed to the door.


‘You’ve fed them before they slept, right?’ I asked.


‘Yes,’ He nodded.


‘Then, it’s okay. Besides they will wake up when they’re hungry like every night.’ I told him. ‘Now, come, let’s go downstairs to have dinner.’ I said.


‘What about dad?’ He asked.


‘He’s has a meeting, so he’s going to be late tonight.’ I replied.


After dinner and little cLit - chat I tucked the boys in before I headed to our bedroom to take a shower and sleep since I was too tired to think of anything other than my pillow and welcoming blankets.


I finished my shower pretty quick and was in the closet tying my night robe when a pair of strong arms engulfed me from behind and rested his head in the crook of my neck inhaling deeply before planting a kiss on my neck.


I smiled before turning in his arms, and snaked my hands around his neck. ’How was your day?’ I asked playing with his raven locks.


‘Tiring!’ He sighed. ’Yours?’ He asked before burying his head back into my neck.


‘Pretty much eventful.’ I answered remembering my little session with the queen slut.


He raised his head, and looked at me with a raised eyebrow. ’Care to share.’ He asked when he saw the smirk playing on my lips.


‘Maybe another time.’ I said. ’Go take a shower, then I have something to tell you.’ I told him untangling myself from him.’


Minutes later he emerged from the bathroom in his boxers, and went to his side of the bed. Taking me by my waist, and dragging me towards him. ’What is it you want to talk to me about?’ He asked.


‘I want you to start going to the company.’ I told him.


He held me at arms length to see me clearly. ‘You aren’t joking?’ He asked.


‘Why would you think so?’ I raised an eyebrow.


‘What brought this sudden decision up?’ He asked.


TO BE CONTINUED..








4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page