top of page
Search

GUILTY 10

Updated: May 23, 2022

CONTINUED FROM LAST NIGHT… She doesn’t look at me, just continues looking at Emerald. She takes in a breath. ‘A few years back, when I was twenty - two, my boyfriend at the time, Lynnelle, and I had gotten pregnant. It was a complete accident, really. Neither of us wanted a baby. But I have this thing - everything happens for a reason - so I decided to keep it, even though we weren’t in the best situation to raise a child. But we decided to, regardless. ‘As the months progressed and my stomach grew, Lynnelle became more and more excited. I did too. I was so eager to meet this little life that was growing inside of me.’ She pauses, twirling her fingers around Emerald’s. ‘But unfortunately, we lost her. She was ….Stillborn.’ I stare at her, wide - eyed. ‘Savannah, I am so sorry. I had no idea.’ She looks up at me, finally. ’It’s okay, you didn’t know. I don’t really tell many people.’ ‘I can see why,’ I say. ’It probably broke you.’ ‘It did, for a while. But like I said, it was a few years ago. I’m fine now, promise.’ She smiles at me. ‘What happened with Lynnelle, if you don’t mind my asking?’ ‘No, that’s fine. We stayed together for a little while after the loss. But we eventually grew apart. Sometimes I think the only reason we stayed together all that time was because of the baby, But like I said, everything happens for a reason. Perhaps I wasn’t ready to be a mother after all. And perhaps that short time that I was pregnant taught me some valuable lessons. I don’t regret it. That, or my relationship with Lynnelle. Those circumstances helped contribute to who I am today.’ ‘That’s good, Sav, I’m glad to hear.’ I smile. And I truly am. She’s so strong and positive. The exact opposite of what I am. ‘You sound like a very wise young woman,’ Doc Kelvin says. ’Your parents must be proud of you.’ Savannah smiles. ’Thank you. My mother died when I was young, but my dad is my biggest supporter. God bless him.’ She takes a moment. ’But enough about me! For goodness sake, how are you, love? This must be so difficult for you.’ She readjusts in her seat, shifting her arms slightly so that Emerald fits comfortably. ‘I’m alright,’ I lie. ’It’s been tough lately. But I’m hanging in there. I wouldn’t even be here if it wasn’t for Doctor Kelvin,’ I turn my head to face him. ’I owe it all to him.’ ‘Oh, nonsense,’ he says. ’I may be the crutch, but you’re doing all the work. I’m only doing my best to help. The rest is up to you.’ He’s so modest. I really do appreciate everything he has done for me. ‘Do you know when you’ll be coming back to work?’ Savannah asks. ‘Not too sure,’ I say. ’Hopefully within the next month or so.’ Wishful thinking. ‘That long?’ ‘I’m still trying to get better. It’s a lot harder than it may seem.’ ‘I bet. I can’t imagine what you’ve gone through - what you’re still going through. You’re a real trooper, Danny.’ I smile. If only I could believe those words myself. The remainder of the day goes better than expected. I suppose Doctor Kelvin was right when he said a visit could lighten my mood. Seeing Savannah made me realize how much I truly miss the outside world; going for runs in the morning, going to work, seeing my friends. I can’t do any of those things when I’m cooped up in this house. But that thought alone gives me the motivation I need to get better. I know I’ll get there eventually. I will, I just have to keep the positive thoughts in, and the bad ones out. I truly do believe that I can get better. The only thing I’m certain about is my perceptions toward Emerald. How do I suddenly start caring for something that I wish never existed? This may be harder than I thought. ----------------------- AFTER Detective Gerald Sullivan Friday May 19,2016

After speaking with Collin, I wait in the living room for Danny to come back out. She appears suddenly, wearing the same outfit as before, hair damp. ‘You’re still here,’ she says, as though she’s surprised to see me. ‘I just had a few more questions.’ ‘Alright,’ she runs her fingers through her hair and takes a seat on the couch. I clear my throat. ’How close are you with Winston’s parents?’ ‘Not close at all, why?’ ‘I haven’t spoken to them yet. Thought I’d give them a call.’ She nods her head. ’I’m not sure they’ll be any help. They don’t come around much. They tend to keep to themselves.’ ‘Why is that?’ She shrugs. ’They’re … how do I put this without sounding rude. STUCK UP? PRETENTIOUS? I don’t know. They only care about themselves. Winston absolutely adores them so I can never mention anything like this to him. But how can he give them such praise when they don’t even come see their own granddaughter?’ ‘Do they know that she’s missing?’ ‘That’s a good question. I don’t speak with them so it would be up to Winston to have said something. I have no idea whether he did or not.’ ‘When was the last time you or Winston saw them?’ She thinks about this. ’They only came to visit once. Right after Emerald was born. They haven’t been back since.’ ‘Why’s that?’ ‘Why do you think, detective?’ ‘The postpartum?’ She nods. ‘Have they ever had a problem with you?’ ‘ME? No. It’s not that they necessarily have a problem with me. It’s that they simply don’t care.’ ‘I see…’ ‘His father is one of those people who think you can buy anything you need in life. Like love. All Winston’s life, he got whatever he wanted. His parents come from old money, so Winston’s needs were never an issue. And that wouldn’t be a problem, really, except they don’t care about his life or wellbeing. They don’t ask him questions about his life, wonder how his family is, or even care what he’s doing at work. His father thinks he can just buy his love. Bought him anything he wanted, as long as he didn’t have to spend time with him.’ ‘But to your knowledge, they don’t have an issue with you and Winston’s marriage? Or any problems with Winston for that matter?’ ‘No. As I said, they don’t care much. They’re too busy with their own lives.’ ‘Alright, Thank you. Danny.’ She nods her head. ’Let me know if you need anything else.’ I leave the Waters’ house and head out to my car. I dial the phone number of Winston’s parents and back out of the driveway, the dial tone echoing through the Bluetooth speaker. I almost don’t think anyone will answer, but after the fifth ring, someone picks up. ‘Hello?’ says a woman’s voice. It’s mellow, smooth. ‘Is this Madeline Waters?’ ‘This is. And who might this be?’ She asks. Her tone gives away what kind of woman she is. Poised, dignified. Everything that Danny described? Possibly. ‘This is Detective Sullivan from the Davenmore Police Department. I’m calling regarding the disappearance of your granddaughter, Emerald.’ I turn the steering wheel and the car moves swiftly onto the next street. ‘I beg your pardon? I think I may have heard you incorrectly.’ That’s when I realize. Winston hasn’t told them, I signal and pull over to the side of the road. ‘Ma’am, I’m sorry. When was the last time you spoke with your son?’ ‘A few weeks ago.’ She pauses. ’What happened?’ ‘Your granddaughter disappeared from their home yesterday evening.’ The line is quiet. ’What do you mean disappeared?’ ‘She’s officially a missing person, ma’am. I apologize for having to tell you this way. I was sure your son had told you.’ ‘He did no such thing!’ She nearly yells into the phone. ’My heavens,’ silence again. She clears her throat, collects herself. ‘Apologies, Why exactly are you calling?’ ‘I just have some questions about your son.’ ‘What kind of questions about my son.’ ‘What kind of questions? Is he in trouble?’ ‘No, nothing like that. I just wanted to speak with you, get a better understanding of the situation.’ ‘Alright. Go on, then.’ I clear my throat. ‘How is your relationship with Winston?’ ‘Our relationship is fine. We don’t see him much anymore. We hardly see him at all, actually. Since he up and left Jhburg for good with that one.’ ‘Danny?’ ‘Yes, who else?’ I pause a moment. ‘Did that upset you? Him moving?’ ‘Of course! He’s my only baby. And he just left town and moved to Davenmore,’ she says as though it’s such a disgusting place. ‘It was hard on us.’ ‘So you and your husband haven’t come out to see Winston and the family in a while?’ ‘We’re been busy the last couple of months.’ ‘Doing what, exactly?’ ‘We’re renovating the house. And planning a cruise for July. The Mediterranean.’ ‘I see. Does Winston know about this?’ ‘No, He doesn’t speak to us much.’ ‘And you never call him?’ Silence, ‘Is there something you need to ask me, detective? Because quite frankly I need to call my son and ask him why the hell he didn’t call his own mother when his only daughter is missing.’ ‘Apologies, Mrs Waters. Just one last question.’ ‘What is it?’ ‘To your knowledge, does your son have any enemies? Anybody who may want to hurt him or come after his family?’ ‘Heavens no! Winston is a wonderful man. Owns his own orthodontic practice, you know. He’s very established for himself. He’s always been a very kind, well - rounded man. Always respectful of others. I couldn’t imagine anyone who would want to hurt him or the baby.’ ‘What about money? He doesn’t owe anyone money? Perhaps someone from the past?’ ‘No. Money is no issue for us. Winston has no debts that I’m aware of.’ ‘Any childhood friends, neighbours, or family friends from home that could possibly do anything like this?’ ‘Kidnap his child? Of course not. What kind of place do you think we live in?’ She asks. Jhburg, I think to myself. ‘Everyone that Winston grew up with was a good influence on him. He was never permitted to hang around with bad children. He’s a good man, Whoever took my granddaughter was definitely not doing it because of Winston.’ She lets her words hang, insinuating something else. ‘So, what you’re saying is, it must be because of Danny?’ I ask, She doesn’t answer and I take her silence as a yes. That’s exactly what she’s implying. ‘May I ask why you think that?’ ‘That Danny…she’s a lovely girl, really. But she was a troubled child. Always messing around and getting into mischief. And I tell you, some things just never change.’ ‘How do you know this?’ ‘Oh, Winston has told me stories. He thinks it’s comical. I find no amusement out of them. Quite frankly I think it’s inappropriate for a young lady to be behaving that way.’ ‘What way are you referring to?’ ‘I’m not getting into it. If you want to know about Danny’s childhood, you should ask her.’ By the tone of her voice, I can tell that this conversation is over. ‘Alright. Well, again, I apologize for having to inform you of the news this way. Thank you for taking the time to speak with me. And … go easy on Winston. He’s going through a difficult time right now. His daughter is missing and I’ve seen what that can do to a person.’ The line is silent for a moment and I almost thinks she’s hung up. ‘Goodnight, Detective.’ The phone disconnects. I head back over to the precinct before paying a visit to the babysitter, Ainsley Kain. At this time in the investigation, I need to speak with everyone who had contact with that child, anyone who might know something and be of some assistance. It’s around one o’clock when I get to the station. Officers Matt Holden and Ashby are standing at the front desk, looking over paper work, I give a friendly nod to Rebecca, our secretary, as I come through the doors and head straight for my office. TO BE CONTINUED…


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comentários


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page