top of page
Search

THE RANCH - CHAPTER 3

Not wanting to engage in conversation with Luke she closed her eyes, pretending to be asleep. She couldn’t help but wonder what her new home would be like, she hoped it wasn’t going to be a dump. Growing up in a Mansion with hired help the place was spotless, she never had to lift a finger. It wasn’t that she couldn’t cook or clean but why should she? And she would have to tell her new husband that she had no intentions of doing any of the duties that were expected of a wife. She opened her eyes when he stopped the van and stated that they were home.


Dorothy looked at the house before her, it was quite large and seemed to be in remarkably good shape. It was painted white and had wraparound porch. Further away there was another large building, a barn or stable, she couldn’t be sure. Horses were grazing inside a fenced - off area and cattle were grazing. There was a pond, it was really beautiful and she thought maybe living here for a year wouldn’t be so bad after all.


Luke hopped down from the van and grabbed her luggage from the back.


‘Can you be careful with the luggage? They’re expensive,’ she said when he dropped them on the ground. Stepping out of the vehicle as gracefully as she could she had trouble walking in her heels and called out to him. ‘Wait.’


He stopped, his hands and arms full turned back to look at her.


‘What?’ he asked.


‘How do you expect me to walk on the gravel in my heels?’


‘Take them off,’ he growled.


‘Seriously? You want me to walk barefoot? “You’re going to have to carry me to the door.’


Muttering under his breath went and put her bags down on the porch and went back over, picking her up in his arms he carried her.


She put her arms around his neck and smiled. ‘This is so romantic being carried over the threshold.’ The feel of his hard body and the ease with which he carried her to the door stirred something inside her. If only their circumstances were different she thought.


He plopped her down. ‘There’s nothing romantic about this.’ He looked down at her feet. ‘I hope you brought some proper footwear. Those shoes won’t do you any good around here.’


‘Actually no I didn’t. I guess you’ll have to take me shopping for some.’


He shook his head and opened the door for her to enter. Following behind he set the bags down as she look around.


The entrance led to a staircase leading upstairs, walking further as she inspected the living room. It was cosy with a sofa, two large chairs, and a fireplace. It was a little untidy. She ran her finger along the table top, dust clung to her fingertips and she looked at Luke. ‘You should have a talk with your maid, she’s not doing a very good job.’


He answered with a smirk on his face. ‘Maid, oh darling I have no maid.’


‘Then who cleans this place?’


‘I do when I have time but now that you’re here you can.’


‘Like hell I will,’ she scoffed. She was not about to be turned into a maid, not for him or anyone.


‘Yeah, you will. If you think you’re going to sit on that cute ass of yours for a year you have another thing coming. Now let me show you to your room.’


She followed him upstairs where he stopped and opened one of the doors.


‘You should be comfortable in here,’ he said, dropping her pieces of luggage on the floor.


‘My room! Don’t you mean our room, after all, we are married?’


He turned to her before leaving.


‘As it told you before this is not a real marriage and we will not be sharing a bed or anything else for that matter.’ He walked out, shutting the door behind him.


After inspecting the room which was deemed hers she went exploring. Outside one door she stopped to listen and heard running water. Going inside looked around the large bedroom and heard the shower running. She knew this had to be his bedroom and when the shower turned off she waited, sitting on the bed for Luke to come out.


He came from the bathroom, a towel wrapped around his waist and stopped short when he saw her. ‘Can I help you?’ he snapped, annoyed that she had the nerve to enter his bedroom unannounced.


‘I like this room better and it has an ensuite, mine doesn’t.’ Her eyes travelled slowly down his hard, lean body. A tingle coursed through her when she saw his muscular form. He had broad shoulders, his arms strong with muscles and he had an amazing six - pack. The towel he wore hung low, showing a perfect V - line leading down. Droplets of water dripped from his dark hair down his chest. She could picture herself licking the drops of water off him. Man, he was one hot - looking cowboy.


‘Now that you got an eyeful you can leave,’ he said as he started drying himself off.


‘Switch rooms with me,’ she said as she leaned back. Crossing her leg over the other one so that her dress rose up her thigh, letting him get a good look.


Well of course he looked, what man wouldn’t? Walking over he grabbed her arm, pulling her off the bed. ‘No. This is my room, you have your own.’


‘But my room doesn’t have an ensuite, this one does.’


Walking her towards the door snapped. ‘There’s a bathroom down the hall you can use and a guest bathroom downstairs.


She turned to face him, her arms going around his neck.


‘But it’s so small.’


Removing her arms he stepped back, his temper flaring. ‘Look, lady, I don’t have time for this nonsense of yours. I have work to do, so just accept things as they are.’ He shut the door behind her.


This didn’t discourage Dorothy, she would break him and would use whatever tactics she needed to, so she went to her room to change.


Luke threw on his clothes and headed down to the kitchen to grab a snack before heading out. A robe was laying on the floor so picking it up he walked into the kitchen. His breath caught in his throat when he saw the scene before him. She was sitting on the table, leaning back on her hands wearing some sexy lingerie. He swore under his breath. She looked so damn hot and him being a man couldn’t help getting turned on, his manhood straining inside his jeans.


‘Hi there hubby, like what you see?’ she asked, arching her back she seductively licked her lips.


Running his thumb over his bottom lip walked over and stood between her legs. His hands going around her waist he heard her gasp. Her waist was so tiny and he could feel the warmth of her skin through the thin material. He lifted her up and off the table and let go of her. ‘I don’t know what game you’re playing but it won’t work. I’m going to work.’ He started walking out, saying over his shoulders. ‘Put on some clothes, dammit. I’ll be back around seven, make dinner.’


‘Jerk,’ she screeched when he walked out.


Luke met up with Keenan, he was still feeling the heat from Dorothy.


‘I thought you’d be honeymooning,’ Keenan said with a snicker.


‘Not funny man. I told you it’s in name only.’


‘So when do I get to meet the little woman?’ Keenan couldn’t help laughing when he saw Luke’s face. ‘Relax pal, I’m just teasing. But seriously, how’s it going?’


Luke ran his hand over his face. ‘She’s going to be a headache. Already she’s testing me and I have to admit she’s very sexy.’


Keenan stopped his horse to look at Luke. ‘Why? What has she done?’


‘I think she’s trying to seduce me. Before I left the house she was sitting in the kitchen wearing this sexy lingerie outfit. It left nothing to the imagination. I just don’t get her Keenan. She was so against marrying me and now it’s like she’s doing everything to get me into bed.’


‘You are married to the girl so why don’t you?”


‘I thought you were pro - Jerry. Now you think I should sleep with Dorothy, what’s up with that?’


‘Jerry’s gone for two years and you both did agree to see others till she comes back so I guess I don’t see the harm in you having a little fun. Just make sure to cover your Willy before sex.’


‘I have no desire to bed Dorothy and I wish you would stop talking.’ Keenan was staring to get on his nerves so he galloped away, leaving him in his dust.


Several hours later Luke was heading home when he noticed Keenan following him. ‘Just where do you think you’re going?’


‘To your place for a cold beer, you owe me. Besides, I want to meet your bride and see her for myself.’ He knew Luke wasn’t pleased but he didn’t care.


Once the horsed were unsaddled the two went inside they could smell something cooking from the kitchen. Luke didn’t really think she would make dinner, she surprised him. Going into the living room they found Dorothy sitting, her legs dangling over the arm of the chair as she flipped through a magazine. She wore short shorts and a halter top, her hair hung down past her shoulders.


‘You’re late,’ she said, not bothering to look up.


‘I’m here now and I brought a friend home for dinner.’


She looked up and gave Keenan a friendly smile and stood up, holding out her hand to shake his. ‘Hi, I’m Dorothy, and you are?’


‘Keenan, Keenan Ward. Hope I’m not imposing?’


‘Not at all, Any friend of Luke’s is always welcome. I only made a pot of lamb stew I didn’t know we were having company. Come into the kitchen and I’ll dish you out some.’


As she walked towards the kitchen the two men’s eyes followed her, moving down to her shorts that just barely covered her ass. Keenan poked Luke in the ribs and winked. She grabbed two beers from the fridge, handing them to the guys then started dishing out the food, placing bread on a plate.


Since she had already eaten she sat with them and started up a conversation with Keenan.


‘So how do you know my husband?’ Placing her fingers over her mouth looked coyly at Luke. ‘Oops, guess I just let out our little secret?’


Luke rolled his eyes at her. ‘No. Keenan knows what’s going on, I told him everything.’


When the men finished their meal she picked up their plates, taking them over to the sink. ‘I hope it tasted ok, I’m not a good cook.’


‘It tasted just fine Mrs Rogers,’ Keenan answered.


‘Please call me Dorothy.’


When Keenan was gone Luke went up to her while she was washing up. ‘Maybe next time you could wear a bra.’


‘Why?’ she asked, giving him a smile.


‘Around these parts, it’s the proper thing to do. You wouldn’t want to give the men a heart attack would you?’


He said, his eyes going to her breasts that were straining against the small halter top.


Leaning back against the counter and resting her hands behind her, making her chest stand out. ‘Don’t you like me better without one?’ I think maybe you do since you can’t take your eyes off my boobs.’ She smiled knowingly.


It was true, he had a hard time keeping his eyes off her chest.


‘It’s late and I’m going to bed.’


He turned to leave but stopped to look back at her. ‘Most men around here are gentlemen, but there are some who may take it as you coming on to them and will try to make to take advantage of you, so cover - up.’


‘Which one are you? I wouldn’t mind if you wanted to take advantage of me.’


‘Give it up Dorothy, I’m not in the mood’ he said angrily and walked out, shaking his head….

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page