top of page
Search

THE RANCH - CHAPTER 16

A few weeks later they were shopping for maternity clothes now that she was showing and her clothes were getting tight on her. Their town didn’t carry maternity wear so he took her to the next town where she got several pieces of clothing. Leaving the store he was wondering why she was being so quiet.


‘Anything wrong?’ he asked, looking over at her.


Climbing into the van she crossed her arms and wouldn’t talk to him.


A couple of kilometres out of town he was fed up with her behaviour so he pulled down a dirt road and parked. ‘Ok, what’s wrong?’


‘Well if you don’t know I’m not going to tell you.’


The palm of his hand slapped against his forehead. ‘Oh my God, if I knew what was wrong I wouldn’t have to ask you. Why do women always say that? Damn it just tell me.’


‘Don’t you curse at me, Mr Rogers.’ Shifting her body she turned to stare angrily at him.


‘You were flirting with that horny bitch in the store.’


He couldn’t stop the laughter from coming. ‘Horny bitch, the woman was just being friendly and I wasn’t flirting. You wouldn’t want me to be rude to her, or any other woman would you?’ He tried to touch her but she shrugged him off. ‘Do you know how sexy I find you when you’re mad? I might have to take you right here.’


‘In your dreams cowboy,’ she snapped at him.


‘Take off your panties and straddle my lap.’


‘No,’ she said, giving him a look that could kill. ‘Take me home, but first let’s stop for Ice Cream.’


Removing his seat belt moved over to her side. His hand on her leg moved up under her dress, his mouth going to her neck. ‘Don’t be mad baby,’ he said as he kissed and sucked on her neck. He knew how much she liked it when he did that, making her putty in his hands. He gasped in pain when her hand went to his crotch and squeezed.


‘If I ever find you flirting with another woman I’ll cut off your dick and feed it to your cows.’


Letting go she smiled. ‘Now are you going to take me for Ice Cream or not?’


Moving back to his side rubbed where she had squeezed him.


Man, she was one feisty woman and he knew she was still a little mad and that he wasn’t about to get any. Usually kissing her neck got her in the mood but not today, Oh well, he would try again once they got home.


‘Ok, just don’t hurt the little guy again.’


Smiling she looked down at his crotch. ‘There’s nothing little about him.’


After the Ice Cream, they headed home.


That night as he lay in bed she came from the bathroom wearing nothing but one of his shirts and climbed into bed.


‘You stole my shirt again.’ Lately, she had been wearing them to bed and he found it sexy.


If you want it back you’ll have to take it,’ she said, licking her lips.


Well, he didn’t have to be told twice as he quickly undid the buttons and removed it. She was no longer angry with him so he wasted no time as he got on top of her, his mouth going to her neck.


Next Day: Keenan and Kimberly came over, the guys were going to paint the baby’s room and the girls were going to relax, looking through baby books for furniture for the nursery. When Dorothy wanted to check to see what the paint looked like Luke refused to let her in.


‘You can’t go in there till the paint has dried and the fumes are gone. It won’t be good for you and the baby to inhale.’


‘I just want a peek, to make sure it’s the right colour.’


‘I said no, now go back downstairs,’ he ordered her.


‘Damn man, you are getting so bossy. Guess you won’t be getting any tonight,’ she said looking at him with one of those looks he had grown to love. It was a mix of displeasure and anger, yet her eyes sparkled letting him know she wasn’t all that mad.


We’ll see about that,’ he replied, winking at her.


Later that Day:


Walking into the kitchen where Luke was, just getting off the phone. ‘Hope that wasn’t a woman you were talking to,’ she said, giving him a smile.


He let out a laugh. ‘No, I learned my lesson the other day. I was talking to my mother. I told her we were having a baby.’


‘Oh. What did she say?’


‘She was pissed off,’ Luke answered.


Dorothy sat down across form him.


‘Why? Is she mad at me?’


‘No, at me.’ Seeing the hurt look on her face he took her hand in his. ‘Mom’s mad at me for not telling her when they were here. But she is happy that she’s going to be a grandma and told me that I better take good care of you.’ Pulling her over set her on his lap, his arms going around her waist. ‘I Guess we should have told them sooner.’


‘Let’s go to bed, Luke.’


Scooping her up in his arms headed to the bedroom.


Over the next little while, they learned more about each other.


She learned that he was a proud man who wouldn’t accept charity but was always the first to help someone who needed it. He also had a jealous streak and would become moody if he thought she was being too friendly with another man. He was also stubborn as hell and wouldn’t budge when he felt he was right about something. She also learned no matter how mad she would make him at times he would never strike her. Instead, he would go out and chop wood, getting out his frustrations that way.


He learned that her favourite colours was green and pink, flowers were white roses. She loved dogs and cats, afraid of spiders, big or small. When she was angry her face would turn a light shade of red, her bottom lip would stick out and she would fold her arms across her chest, giving you her death stare. She spoke her mind which at times was embarrassing whenever they were out amongst others. But the biggest thing was he learned how she knew to use her body to get what she wanted. To be honest he didn’t mind that part, as long as it was just for him she was doing it for. And when she was mad at him all he had to do was bring her some white roses, apologize and kiss her neck.


If you had told Dorothy a year ago that she would be living in the country with a cowboy, cooking, and cleaning she would have laughed in their face. But she loved every minute of it, it was like she had always belonged here. Loving Luke and him loving her she was so happy. Away from her abusive father and all the creeps she used to date who only wanted her for sex or to get in good with her father she finally felt alive. She was happy and hoped that nothing would happen to tear her world apart.


Though there were no more mysterious vehicles lurking around she still felt from time to time that she was being watched. She was happy but her world would soon come crashing down around her. She and Luke were at the bar with Keenan and Kimberly when Dorothy looked towards the door just as it opened and a woman walked in. She had short blonde hair, was about 1.54cms was beautiful. Her heart froze when she recognized the woman from the picture that once sat on Luke’s fireplace, which she had him take down. It was Jerry.


Jerry having spotted them walked over and stood behind Luke. Only Dorothy had seen her, the others were busy talking and hadn’t noticed her. ‘Hi, Luke.’


They all stopped talking and he looked over his shoulder, seeing Jerry he stood up and faced her.


A smile crossed his face and he gave her a hug. ‘Jerry, what are you doing back?’


She took a seat next to Luke, glancing momentarily at Dorothy. She then greeted Keenan warmly and gave Kimberly a nod. Then her attention went back to Luke.


‘Can we go somewhere private to talk?’


He looked over at Dorothy. ‘Jerry, this is my wife, Dorothy. Whatever you have to say you can say it in front of her.’


‘Please Luke, after everything you owe it to me to hear me out and what I’ve got to say should be done privately.’


He looked at Dorothy and saw how worried she was, but Jerry was right. ‘I’ll be right over there where you can see me, I won’t be gone long.’ Getting up they walked over and sat at the corner table.


‘Ok, what is it you want to talk about?’


‘About us Luke.’


‘There is no us. You were the one to break it off, said you never wanted to see me again.’


‘I know I did. I was hurt and angry when you said you got married and that she was pregnant. Really Luke, how did you expect me to react?’


‘I told you why I had to get married and that I made the mistake of getting drunk and sleeping with her. For that I am sorry but what’s done is done.’


I’m sorry I got mad but now I’ve had time to get over your betrayal and would love for us to go back to our original plan. Now I know you have a responsibility to the child and I can accept it being in your life.’


‘Jerry wait.’


‘No, let me finish,’ she said, holding up her hands. ‘When this ridiculous contract runs out and you can get that woman out of your house we’ll get back together. I’ll finish my internship overseas and get a place and job in Cape Town. We’ll marry just as planned.’


‘What kind of marriage would that be with you only coming home on weekends?’


Jerry shook her head, clearly annoyed. ‘It’s what we planned, what we talked about. Just because you had to marry that woman doesn’t have to change our plans.’


‘Things have changed Jerry, I don’t love you and I never really did, I know that now. I’m married to Dorothy and we are in love. You should go back to your new life and be happy. It would never have worked out between us, I think you know that.’


Anger flashed across her face, her eyes burned deep into his.


‘How do you know the baby is yours? It seems a little fishy to me that her father blackmailed you into marrying her and right away she gets pregnant.’


‘You’re hurt and for that I’m sorry, knowing I’m the cost. I love my wife and nothing can change that. Forget about me and move on. Goodbye Jerry, take care.’


‘I’m not going anywhere until you open your eyes and see what a lying, conniving bitch she is,’ Jerry shouted behind his back when he walked away….

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comentários


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page