top of page
Search

THE RANCH - CHAPTER 27

‘In Silvio Martino’s safe. When we went there to the party and I was in his office he opened it to give me the diamond for her to wear. That bastard raped her, he raped his own daughter. I’m going to kill him.’


They both turned their heads to Dorothy when they heard her cry out. Luke didn’t want her to find out, not this way.


‘No,’ she cried out when she heard what Luke had said. Holding her stomach she gripped the door frame, her legs about to give out. ‘My father did it. Oh my God, no, he can’t be Cassie’s father, he just can’t be.’


Luke rushed to her side and took her in his arms. ‘I’m sorry you heard that Dorothy, I never meant for you to. I’m not really sure they are the same panties, they might have belonged to someone else.’ He led her over to the chair and made her sit down, kneeling in front of her. Her tears fell, her body shook and he had sworn she’d never cry again, and here she was, heartbroken. This might just prove to be too much for her to handle.


‘You really should go to the police and have him charged,’ Keenan said, his heart going out to Dorothy.


‘Keenan’s right honey, we can’t let him get away with this. If he’s guilty that is.’ But he knew in his gut that it was true. ‘That’s why I’m going there to confront him.’


She looked at him. ‘I’m going with you,’ she said in between sobs.


Luke shook his head. ‘No, you aren’t going anywhere near that man. I’ll go and when I get him to confess I’ll the police. He’s not getting away with what he did to you.’


As he was kneeled down in front of her she took his head in her hands. ‘I have to do this Luke. I need to confront him. If I don’t I’ll never be able to let go and be truly happy. He had to know how much I hate him for what he did to me. Please try and understand and take me, for my sanity.’


Luke was conflicted. If he didn’t take her she might live with regrets for not getting the answers she needed to hear from her father. On the other hand, he might hurt her more, could shatter her heart into pieces and how would he be able to fix it?


‘Luke please,’ she said, shaking his face lightly to get his attention, her eyes pleading with him.


Closing his eyes he sighed loudly, not taking his eyes off her spoke to Keenan. ‘My bakkie won’t make it there and back, can I use yours?’


‘You know you can buddy.’


‘Dorothy, I really don’t want you to go. Stay here and let me deal with him, I’ll see to it that he goes to jail for his crime.’


‘I’m going, Luke.’


Hearing the determination in her voice he knew there was no changing her mind. ‘Alright, you go get dressed and I’ll make you something to eat.’ Knowing she was about to protest about eating stopped her before she could speak. ‘I won’t take you if you don’t eat first.’ He could be just as stubborn as Dorothy.


Rolling her eyes at him she got up and walked out, heading upstairs.


‘Do you think it’s a good idea to take her?’ Keenan asked, knowing she was in a fragile state after hearing about her father.


‘I know it’s not. But what choice do I have? I know that woman and if I don’t take her with me she will find a way to get there, at least this way I’ll be with her.’


‘Ok Luke, here’s the keys to my van.’ He handed him the keys and picked up the ones for Luke’s van. ‘You really should buy a better one.’


Once Keenan was gone he made Dorothy some food and waited for her to come down. Minutes later she returned, wearing jeans and a shirt. Her eyes were red and swollen and he knew she had still been crying and his heart ached for her. It seemed to him that he had been making promises to keep her happy and breaking them.


Watching her nibbles, taking only small bites knew she was forcing herself to eat. Having only eaten a small amount he finally let her off the hook, removing the plate. ‘You did good honey. We should get going, it’s a long drive.’


She sat looking out the window as he drove. Reaching over he took her hand in his and gave it a reassuring squeeze. His heart melted when she gave him a smile, it was a weak one, but still, a smile when she squeezed him back.


‘You don’t have to do this honey. I can go and talk to him and have the police arrest him. That bastard has hurt you enough and I don’t want him hurting you anymore.’


‘We’ve been through this Luke. I have to face him, to ask him how he could do such a thing to his own daughter. I’m always known he hated me, but to do this is unthinkable, it’s sick.’


She looked at him and tears fell down her face. ‘Knowing what you know how will you ever be able to touch me again?’


He took one look at her face and pulled over to the side of the road. ‘I love you and what happened was not your fault. There is nothing in this world that could stop me from wanting to touch you. Look at me,’ he said when she turned away, she did as he ordered.


‘When are you going to learn to trust me? To trust in my love for you?’


‘I do Luke. It’s just that I feel so dirty. It was bad enough being raped but to find out who did it just makes me afraid of losing you.’


Cupping her face in his hands.


‘You will never lose me.’ He pulled her into his arms and kissed her with passion, letting her know just how much he loved her.


She loved how he always knew the right thing to say, making her feel better and giving her the strength to face the future and her father. ‘Let’s go and get this over with. I have a lot to say to him and with you by my side, I know I can stand up to him finally.’


Moving close sat next to him as they continued on their way, his arm draped over her shoulder.


With what seemed like the longest drive in history they finally reached their destination, her father’s Mansion. They remained seated for a while, looking at the house before them, she shivered and turned to Luke.


‘Let’s get this over with and then I never want to see this place ever again,’ she said, waiting for Luke to come around to her side. Taking his hand she stepped down from the van. She was grateful that he didn’t let go, but held her hand as they walked up the steps and entered the house.


A man she had never seen before approached them, holding his hands up. He was tall, husky. Her father must have hired someone new, a bodyguard she assumed.


‘Hold it right there,’ he said, getting in their faces. ‘Who are you and what are you doing here?’ he barked, his hand moving his jacket aside so that they could see the gun.


Clutching Luke’s hand she felt brave, knowing she was safe with him by her side. ‘You must be new here. I am Silvio Martino’s daughter, Dorothy and this is my husband. We are here to see my father, so please step aside and let us through.’


Luke couldn’t help but grin, she sounded so tough, boss - like.


‘Yes Madam,’ he said and stepped aside. ‘Your father is in his office.’


‘Thank you. What is your name?’ she asked as they walked passed him.


‘You can call me Vic, just Vic.’


Her hand on the handle to the office she hesitated and looked at Luke.


He placed his hand on hers.


‘You can do this.’


She nods and turning the knob flings the door open with so much force it startled Silvio, making him jump up from his seat.


When Silvio saw Dorothy and Luke he sat back down. ‘Well, well, looks who’s here.’ His eyes go to her stomach as she walked in and over to the desk, Luke right on her heels. ‘You look thin, have you had the baby already?’


It took every ounce of her strength not to break down and cry at the mention of her baby. She felt Luke’s hand on her arm.


‘I lost her when I was seven months pregnant.’


‘Shit happens,’ her father said, showing no emotion. ‘So why are you here? What is it you want from me?’


Luke wanted to jump over the desk and pound the man’s face into a bloody pulp. He sat there so smug, not a hint of regret in his voice. ‘You rotten fucker, you don’t care that Dorothy lost her baby, your baby.’ Letting go of Dorothy he banged his fists on the desk. ‘We know it was you who raped her that night.’


‘You don’t know what you’re talking about. I won’t sit here and listen to this nonsense in my own home. Now both of you get out before I have you arrested for trespassing.’


‘Go ahead, call the police. We will tell them what a sick bastard you are, how you kept her panties as a souvenir in your safe.’


Silvio started laughing in Luke’s face. ‘You have no proof and it will be my word against hers. I also have a half dozen men who were at that party that will testify how she was coming on to them all night. She was asking for it, so I gave it to her.’


He stood up, his face inches from Luke’s. ‘I gave it to her real good, really hard. You know what I’m talking about Rogers. I only had her once, but you have been enjoying her for months now.’


Luke heard Dorothy’s cry of anguish, the bile rose up into his throat as Silvio’s sick words echoed throughout the office. The anger he had been holding back since he walked into the office exploded, his fist raised and connected with the older man’s jaw. Jumping over the desk he knocked him to the floor, getting on top, one hand around Silvio’s throat, his fist ready to strike but he was pulled off the man and slammed into the wall. He heard Dorothy scream just as a fist was rammed into his stomach, causing him to drop to his knees…..

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page