top of page
Search

THE CAGED BIRD

CHAPTER 5

 

I was in a state of shock when I heard those words and not the Good Kind! My breath hitched. I was lost for words. I just could not grasp the fact I would marry a total stranger. I did not know a lot about social engagement and social activities, but what I did know was that two people marry out of love, not out of a Deal. At least that is what all the romantic novels and movies told me.

 

Sure, I had read about arranged marriages, but that was in the 18th and 19th centuries. Not in the present.

 

I knew I was too long too quiet. I had to say something, but what?

 

‘I - I am aafffraid IIII do not uuuunnnderstand.’ I stuttered.

 

When the words left my mouth, a sinister smile was plastered on the young male’s face of Edric. A shiver ran down my spine. If he looked nice and warm - hearted, I might have agreed with my father, but he was anything but those things. He looked evil, bad, and cold. I knew I should not judge, that was something I learned from my etiquette lessons.

 

‘A proper lady must never, no matter the circumstances, judge a book by its cover. A proper lady must therefore never judge another human being.’

 

Nevertheless, my judgment said that every fibre of my being wanted to get away from this cruel person.

 

‘You will have to forgive my daughter, she was quite protected during her child hood as you can understand.’ My father said to the two males in front of him. He turned to me, ‘Ava when you are eighteen you will marry Edric. You know what I mean by that, right?’ He pressed his last word as he did not want for himself to be embarrassed by having an ignorant child.

 

‘IIII know what you mean father, bbbut why?’ I asked hesitantly.

 

All the men in the office started to laugh, except for my brother, after my father had initiated it.

 

‘You Don’t need to know why, that’s grown - up business. That is not something you should worry about with that little head of yours.’ My father said with a cold smile on his face.

 

It felt truly degrading. If he did not want me to appear naïve, why was he this condescending towards me?

 

I just stood there, I did not even notice how everybody had left. It was only my brother who stayed behind. ‘Ava, I’m sorry. I tried to stop this, but father…father…’

 

‘It’s not your fault Xavier. I only want to know why I must marry him. I mean I don’t love the guy, even better, I have never met him. Xavier, please tell me why? I have learned that people only marry out of love for each other, but that is not the case with us.’

 

Xavier sighed. ‘Oh, Ava…’ He walked towards me and embraced me in a big hug. ‘I wished you could stay forever like this, this pure.’ He murmured against my head.

 

That was something I heard before, staying pure. Why do people say that? I was frustrated, I had all these questions, but no answers. ‘So, you aren’t going to answer me?’ I asked into his chest.

 

‘I’m sorry little sister, but I can’t. Father will kill me.’

 

I was shocked at hearing those words. Father would not kill his own son, he loved Xavier, right?’

 

It was a couple of days after our Father broke the news to me, about my arranged marriage. He did not speak about it a lot or elaborate on why he had planned this marriage. He had only told me the wedding would be held a week after I turned eighteen. That was now three months away.

 

I did not know what to feel about this. I knew this was wrong, but the reason why I did not know why this marriage was happening, dominated my feelings about the matter.

 

Not until today the wedding was not brought up much. Only when I was reading in the library while Mary kept me company as she was cleaning the room, a woman appeared. ‘Excuse me?’ I looked up at the woman, but she was not talking to me. She was talking to Mary.

 

When Mary looked at her, she slightly bowed her head and excused herself from the room. The moment she left, the mystery woman turned to me. ‘You must be Ava. Hello dear, nice to meet you.’

 

I stood up from the couch. The woman looked in her later forties, early fifties. She looked neat, with her pencil skirt, blouse, and matching accessories. Her nails were polished, and her hair was properly styled. She was the true definition of a proper lady, according to my etiquette teacher.

 

‘If you don’t mind me asking, who are you?’ I asked politely. I closed my book and held it in front of me.

 

‘Oh, I’m sorry dear, how silly of me. I am Miranda, the mother of Edric, your soon - to - be mother - in - law.’ She said with a smile, but it did not look quite genuine.

 

‘Well, nice to meet you too.’ I remained politely as I did not want to get on the bad side of my in - laws. Although I did not want to get married, I did not even want to think about it, yet here she was, my mother - in - law. Reminding me about what was to come.

 

‘I see you are a nice young lady. You look neat, are polite and I see you are educated.’ She said as she was pointing at the book I was holding, which was a book by Popkin about historiography.

 

‘Thank You!’ I said in a low voice.

 

‘Please sit down, we have matters to talk about.’ I got confused, what matters were needed to be discussed.

 

‘I’m afraid I do not understand.’ A frown appearing on my forehead.

 

‘Well, the wedding of course dear. We need to discuss that. But you do not need to worry. I have already drawn out some plans and I got some magazines, so you can look at dresses.’ She took some forms and magazines out of her bag. ‘Look I have already selected some dresses that might fit you. And I have already thought of some themes for the wedding. Oh, and I have already thought of the catering.’

 

I was overwhelmed with all the information. ‘Can’t this wait Miranda, the wedding is still three months away.’

 

‘Oh, no dear, most women plan their wedding months, sometimes even years, ahead. We have to make decisions now before we can’t get anything ordered for the wedding.’

 

Right then all the feelings I had suppressed about the wedding, hit me like a Tsunami,

 

I did not want to get married…….

 

 

 

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page