top of page
Search

THE CAGED BIRD

CHAPTER 14

 

I liked Evelyn. She smiled and joked all the time. She had taught me a lot of things about TV shows, TV channels, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, and all other kinds of social Media platforms, Tik Tok Amplified, while we ate ourselves full of all kinds of snacks. Evelyn really had a sweet tooth. Only my body did not like the sweetness. Shortly after I had to throw up. Maybe I should take it easy with eating so many things at one time, the next time I am eating with Evelyn.

 

When I came back, we finished watching a YouTube video which was a Make - Up tutorial. I really like those, they were very satisfying to watch. Quite satisfying.

 

‘Tomorrow we should go shopping. We will buy you a phone first. I can’t believe how you lived without one. Oh, I can invite some of my friends as well, you will love them.’ Evelyn kept on babbling during dinner. I did not mind, I Loved that she brought some positive energy into this house.

 

‘I don’t think it a good idea to take Ava shopping with you,’ Edric said suddenly. My smile dropped, my head hung low.

 

I was quite excited to go out tomorrow, but I knew that Edric’s word was law. It was no use to try and change his mind.

 

‘What are you talking about? It seems like Ava has not left the house in a while and you can’t be cooped up too long in one place. So, we are going to shop tomorrow, and you can’t do a thing about it.’ Evelyn said, leaving no room for further arguments for her brother.

 

‘Fine!’ He grumbled.

 

Evelyn turned to me a winked and served her another portion of food on the plate. Honestly, I was surprised by how much food this woman could eat. Even during dinner, she ate a lot. My stomach, on the other hand, felt still uneasy after all the snacks.

 

The next day I was nervous and excited as well. I was waiting by the front door for Evelyn as she was still getting ready. Just when she came down the stairs, my stomach felt weird. I dashed to the bathroom, throwing up my breakfast.

 

‘Are you alright in there, Ava?’

 

‘Yeah, I’m fine. Just a minute.’ I said before I had to throw up again.

 

When I felt better, I flushed the toilette, took a deep breath and stepped out of the bathroom.

 

‘Are you sure you’re feeling Fine? We can stay home if you want?’

 

She had put a hand on my shoulder and had a worried face.

 

‘I’m fine. I assure you.’ Evelyn did not look convinced. ‘I think it’s still from all the snacks I ate yesterday,’ I tried to convince her.

 

She put her hand on my shoulder onto my forehead. ‘Well, it does not seem you have a fever. Tell me when you want to go home, okay?’

 

I nodded my head, and we went to the car. ‘So first we will go to a very cute coffee place, that’s where I always meet with my friends before we go shopping.’ I nodded my head again.

 

While Evelyn was singing along with the radio, I enjoyed the view. The last time I was in the car it was night - time, now it was day - time, and the city looked so much different, so much brighter. It hummed with energy. People going to or leaving work, families having fun outings, friends meeting up for a drink. The city looked so peaceful but energized at the same time.

 

‘What’s so interesting out there?’ Evelyn had turned down the radio as she asked me the question.

 

‘Hmmm, what do you mean?’

 

‘You look like this the first time seeing the city? Did you live somewhere else? I thought the Angelo’s owned this city?’ A frown appeared on my face. How did my family own a city?’

 

‘I don’t know what you mean, but it is actually the first time seeing the city in the daytime.

 

And no, we did not live somewhere else. We lived just outside of the city.’

 

‘Hold up… What do you mean ‘THE FIRST TIME SEEING THE CITY IN THE DAYTIME?’ Her head went from me to the road, to me again, and to the road. She looked very confused.

 

‘I never left my father’s land and the first time I saw the city was at night-time,’ I explained to her as a matter of fact.

 

‘Oh, Sweetie. Well, good thing you met me.’ I did not understand what she meant by that but went with it anyway. Shortly after she parked the car in front of a cute - looking café.

 

‘We are here.’ Evelyn squealed. ‘We’re going to have so much fun!’

 

We entered the coffee place. I could see why she loved it. The interior looked very nice, very homey. The place was scattered around with beautiful plants and flowers, calm music was played in the background and the use of wood - tinted furniture made it all like stepping into a warm home.

 

We had just stepped into the place and squeals were heard from our left side. Evelyn turned her body and squealed as well. ‘Hello girls!’ All the women hugged each other as a welcoming gesture.

 

‘Girls meet the wife of my brother, Ava. Ava meet my friends.’ I waved shyly to the women.

 

‘Why don’t you get to know each other and I will get us a Chai Latte.’

 

Evelyn left me alone with them. Nerves grew in my stomach. Social engagement was not my strong suit.

 

‘Please sit down Ava. My name is Claire, this is Laura, and the pretty redhead is Rebecca.’ I took a seat and nodded my head at their introduction. Luckily for me Evelyn came right back after that.

 

She placed the hot beverage in front of me and started to speak. ‘So, before we catch up and share our gossip we need to discuss our shopping day. First, we have to buy Ava a Phone.’ Before she could speak further, Claire interrupted her.

 

‘Why, did hers break? OR is there a new iPhone out?’ She asked with a glint in her eyes.

 

What is an iPhone? That was all I thought.

 

‘Don’t freak out, but she never had a phone before,’ Evelyn said in a whisper. ‘What!’ All the three women said in unison.

 

‘How could you ever live without a phone?’ Claire asked. ‘I would go insane without my phone,’ Laura said. ‘How do you even hold up your social life, how do you even check your social media?’

 

Rebecca almost screamed out in disbelief.

 

‘Guys I said don’t freak out. Leave the poor girl alone. After that, I want to go and check out the new collection of Louis Vuitton.’

 

The girls started to chat all about fashion, I think. I did not know what Louis Vuitton was, but as they talked further it sounded like a brand for clothes.

 

‘Oh, I have a great idea. How about we give Ava a makeover. What is your favourite fashion brand? We can start there.’

 

Laura suggested. The other girls agreed with the idea and all waited in anticipation for my answer.

 

‘Iiii don’t have one,’ I said more like a question rather than a statement.

 

‘Nonsense, every girl has a favourite brand, I think it is Dior,’ Claire said.

 

‘Dior?’ I asked before I could stop myself.

 

‘Oh honey, what about Chanel?’ I shook my head.

 

‘Gucci?’ Again, shook my head.

 

‘Dear Lord, under what stone have you been living?’ Rebecca sassed.

 

‘Rebecca!’ Evelyn hissed.

 

‘What?’

 

‘Never mind, I like the idea of a makeover, and while doing that we can teach you a thing about fashion.’ Evelyn chirped.

 

‘Why would I need a makeover?’ I thought I dressed right. Well, I dressed as a proper lady.

 

‘Sweetie just look at you and then at us. Your clothes are so…so plain.’

 

Laura pointed at my clothes. I looked down at the dress I wore. I liked this dress. I felt a hand on my shoulder. ‘It’s nothing personal Ava. We are just going to have some fun.’

 

Evelyn tried to cheer me up. ‘This is meant to be exciting.’

 

I thought shopping would be nice, but boy I was wrong. I hated the large crowd we had to walk through in the mall. I was dragged from store to store by the ladies, telling me I needed all kinds of things in my wardrobe. The most embarrassing one was a blush on my face.

 

Also, the three women made from time - to - time comments about me not knowing certain things.

 

Like actors, artists, songs, brands and apps. Evelyn tried to keep their sassy comments at bay for me. She was the one who got me through this trip.

 

Our last stop was at a restaurant.

 

When I just thought our trip could not be more tiring, they started to talk about their sex life. I had a déjà vu moment with the enduring dinners on Sundays. I tried to sit back, not wanting to engage with the conversation.

 

‘So, Ava, How is Edric in bed? I bet he’s a stud.’ Claire asked.

 

My breath hitched. A shiver ran down my spine, remembering the awful memories of those horrible nights. I started to tremble.

 

‘Well,’ The women pressed, except Evelyn.

 

‘Iiii need to go the bathroom.’ I stormed away, seeking the bathroom. I reached it just in time and emptied my stomach once again today.

 

When I came back Evelyn’s friends were gone. ‘Come let’s go home,’ Evelyn said in a calm voice. She put her arm around me and let me have my space the whole ride.

 

When we entered the car, Evelyn sighed. ‘I like to apologize for their behaviour Ava. They lived a sheltered life. Not like yours but they never have learned that people don’t live the same way they do. I am sorry, I thought it was going to be fun.’

 

I nodded my head in response as I couldn’t speak. Mentally and physically I still felt unwell.

 

Once we walked through the front door, I dashed towards the bathroom once again. Why was I getting sick all the time?

 

Evelyn stayed close on my heels and held my hair back. When I was done Evelyn gave me a worried glance. ‘What’s wrong with you? You don’t have a fever but you’re still throwing up… Ava, when was the last time you had your periods?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page