top of page
Search

THE CAGED BIRD

CHAPTER 13

 

Today was a good day. Edric had said he was home late, so that meant I had the day to myself. In the morning I accompanied Linda, Debra and Stella, in the afternoon I kept myself busy in the garden and in the evening, I enjoyed reading a book in the library. That was the only place Edric was not fond of, so it was my escape place from him….

 

When I was finishing my last chapter before deciding to go to bed, I heard a noise coming from the foyer. I assumed it was Edric, but judging by the sound of it, it seemed he was not alone. Normally I would let it go, thinking it would be one of the men who came over here from time to time. Only this did not sound like males, but rather like females.

 

I closed my book and carefully made my way to the front door. The closer I got the clearer it got to me it was indeed females. I turned around the corner and was met by Edric and three women who were clinging to my husband.

 

The four of them touched each other inappropriately, especially Edric because he was my husband, meaning he could not engage himself like this with others. He had his hands placed on parts you should not have them there. I knew marriage was an exclusive relationship and that if Edric were to go further with this behaviour he was cheating on me, meaning being disloyal to me.

 

One of the women noticed me. “Edric who is she? Will she be joining us as well?’ She asked rather disappointed.

 

‘Oh no baby, she will do anything but join us.’ Edric slurred. He was drunk…

 

‘Edric what is going on?’ I asked hesitantly.

 

‘What is going On? What is going on is that I have three beautiful women by my side who will accompany me this night. So, Don’t go to our bedroom, it will be rather busy and crowded tonight in our bed.’ He laughed like he was saying a joke.

 

A hurtful expression appeared on my face. My lips slightly trembling and my eyes watering.

 

‘Little Bird, quite the tears. If you don’t want to satisfy my needs, I will have to find my own ways.’ The four of them laughed as they went upstairs.

 

Why would he marry me if he did not plan to stay loyal to me? Why hurt me? I grew more and more frustrated as I did not understand a thing that was happening to me and to the things around me.

 

I found a guest bedroom near our bedroom, but I could not sleep for a minute. It was either my mind that kept me awake the noises from the bedroom.

 

I think at some moment I did fell asleep but was soon after abruptly woken up by Edric. He busted through the door, he squinted his eyes and a frown appeared on his face. He shook his head and grunted. ‘Fucking hangover,’ He muttered.

 

‘Ava, breakfast now! To the bedroom.’ He ordered me.

 

I rubbed the sleep from my eyes and sat up, waking up as well. ‘Hurry up, bitch!’ I flinched at his harsh words. Again, tears were forming in my eyes. I made my way downstairs and prepared breakfast.

 

I worked as quickly as I could and put everything on a tray, bringing it upstairs. As I entered the room, I foul smell hit me. Nevertheless, I kept on walking, not sparing a glance at the bed and put the tray on the table in the room.

 

After I had delivered the food, I tried to escape the bad - smelling room as fast as possible.

 

When I turned on my heel, I did see the bed, unfortunately. The three women laid there naked, on the spot I normally slept. A wave of anger hit me but was soon flushed away by Edric.

 

‘Where. Is. My. Coffee!’ He roared.

 

The women giggled.

 

Because I had worked so quickly, I had forgotten about the coffee. I was so scared, he could get so angry about little things, especially his coffee in the morning. ’IIIi…’

 

I could never finish that sentence as he backhanded me. Before I could recover from his hit, he grabbed my hair and dragged me out of the room, to the room I had been sleeping in. He pushed me on the ground and kicked me.

 

A whimper escaped from my mouth….

 

‘You know, I don’t even know why I agreed to marry you. You are a horrible wife, you can’t keep me satisfied, you can’t stand up for yourself and worst of all you can’t even make me a cup of coffee!’

 

Tears rolled down my cheeks. Edric sighed. 

 

‘Why do I even bother, you are not worth it. Don’t think to highly of yourself just because you’re an Angelo. You are just a trophy wife we men can use to impress others with.’ With that he left the room.

 

I felt utterly helpless. I felt like I was nothing. I tried to do everything he asked from me. I really tried to adjust to this life, to this world which I did not understand because people kept me in the dark for years.

 

Maybe he was right. Maybe I was worthless. I was not pretty, I had only a high school Diploma and … and I did not know a thing about real life, about life in the outside world. Who wants such an ignorant girl around them? Simple, no one.

 

The next day exited the room. That whole day I had to hide in the guest bedroom, too afraid to face Edric. I limped into the library after we had finished breakfast. He had kicked me hard against my thigh yesterday.

 

I curled myself up on the couch and planned to stay there the rest of the day. I had finished my book and started on a new one when I heard the doorbell. Not knowing if Edric had heard the noise, I limped my way to the front of the house.

 

But he did hear the doorbell. From afar I could hear him talking to another woman. Again. I thought. I headed back to the library when I heard their conversation.

 

‘So, I heard my big brother had finally tightened the not. Where is she?’ The mystery woman said although I think I can assume she is Edric’s sister.

 

‘I think somewhere in the house, probably the library. But don’t get your hopes up too High, she is just a kid, really irritating.’ Edric grumbled.

 

Nope, I was not going to meet either of them. I did not want to hear any bad remarks from Edric again today.

 

As fast as I could I went to the library. Only they caught up on me before I was even near the room. ’Ava.’ Edric’s dark voice called me.

 

I stopped in my tracks and slowly turned around, to be met by a beautiful woman. She had the same dark, black hair as Edric, but her eyes were so much brighter. She screamed of perfection.

 

‘Ava, meet my sister Evelyn.’

 

‘Hi, nice to meet you,’ Evelyn said while hugging me. I felt a bit overwhelmed by the sudden intrusion into my personal space. ’How about we sit down in the living room, and get to know each other?’

 

Edric mumbled something about finding it useless but agreed anyway. ’Ava, drinks.’ He ordered me.

 

‘Hey, be nice to your wife. Is one of your maids not here?’ Edric grunted but called Stella to get us some drinks.

 

We moved to the living room. I tried to hide my limp as well as possible.  We settled on the couch and that is when the interrogation started. ’So, how did you meet?’

 

Before I could answer Edric beat me to it.

 

‘Evelyn please, you know that our marriage was purely political.’

 

Evelyn sighed. ’I know, I know. I’m just messing with you guys. So, Ava, I don’t know a thing about you. Probably because your father was so protective over you, tell me how old are you?’

 

‘Uhmm… eighteen.’ I said in a timid voice.

 

‘Eighteen! What is an eighteen - year - old girl doing with a man who is twenty - five years old! Father agreed to this?’ Evelyn yelled through the living room with wide eyes of confusion.

 

‘Calm down Eve, she is legally and adult so yeah, father agreed to this. But I’ll let you two alone to get to know each other.’

 

Evelyn could not make any objection as Edric had already left the room.

 

‘Well, I’m sorry you have to deal with my brother every day. He can be such an impatient hothead. He does treat you right, right?’ She looked concerned.

 

I did not know if I should be honest, but I think if I would tell her the truth Edric would do something to me and after yesterday I did not want to be hit again.

 

“Y - Yeah, yeah he is nice to me,’ I said while looking down at my hands. When I looked back up because she had stayed quiet, a doubtful look appeared on Evelyn’s face.

 

‘Well, if he does something which makes you uncomfortable just tell me and I’ll kick his ass.’ I smiled at that. I would love for someone to hurt Edric back as he did to me.

 

No! I could not think like that. That would only lead to more bad things. Hurting others was bad, I could not lower myself to Edric’s level.

 

‘How about we watch some dumb Netflix show and eat loads of snacks.’

 

I agreed to her plan as she called for Stella once again to make us some snacks and drinks. I wanted to offer to get them, but my leg would make me suspicious.

 

‘I’m sorry, I planned to take you shopping with me, but I just got back from Europe and I’m still tired of my trip.’

 

‘It’s okay, but I have a qqquestion.’

 

‘Ask away.’ Evelyn said.

 

‘What’s Netflix?’

 

Evelyn’s eyes widen.

 

‘You never heard about Netflix?’ I shook my head. ‘What about HBO?’ Again, I shook my head.

 

‘So, you have never heard nor seen Game of Thrones?’ Evelyn shouted in disbelief.

 

‘Nnno, is that bbbad?’ I stuttered. I was afraid it was bad I did not know these things.

 

‘No, no, of course not. I’m just surprised because you are technically still a teenager and Game of Thrones and Netflix are quite the things teenagers keep themselves busy with. But its fine, you can still learn about these things. I’ll show you.’ Evelyn said with a warm smile.

 

The whole afternoon she told me all about Netflix. It was a platform where all kinds of movies were held for people to watch in return for a monthly payment. Evelyn introduced me with every show she liked on the platform. She told me not every movie was on Netflix. But to me it seemed there was a great number of movies available, more than enough even. How could someone possibly watch all these movies?

 

We watched a show called Modern Family, Evelyn had already watched it but she said it was a funny show to watch and easy to understand.

 

Evelyn laughed, but I got rather emotional. Even though it were dysfunctional families at the end of the day they had each other backs. I wished I had family like that.

 

A loving father, a loving mother, a normal family who got worried about Birthdays and school grades.

 

A normal family was all I ever wanted…..

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

ความคิดเห็น


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page