top of page
Search

Pot Lids

RUSTING POT LIDS “The twin’s father is on the scene again and Luzaan is very worried that he will discover the truth.” Luzaan was awaken by the alarm of her electric clock on her bedside table the next morning. Her eyes feel so puffy even the chirping of the birds in the big trees outside her bedroom window made things difficult for her. She doesn’t want to think on the things that happened the day before with her, even less of the person that is giving her insomnia. She laid awake the whole night thinking of Bevan’s visit to her house. She wonders if she handled the whole situation wrongly. The knowledge of Bevan been the twin’s father is still haunting her. The boys, at their age need a father in their lives. Even if it is a father that they hardly know. She later makes breakfast. She makes scramble eggs and fish fingers the way the twin’s like it. She decides not to show them how upset she is about Bevan visit, she knows they will definitely ask her questions and she was not in the mood for that and for lying to them. “Were you able to close your eyes for a bit of sleep Luzaan, last night?” Luzaan looks at Eric as soon as he walks into the doorway of the kitchen. “I made a big mistake to think after Bevan’s visit I will be able to get some sleep last night. Why are you up so early, like a fairy out of the feathers.?” “I went for a early morning walk, you didn’t think I would leave you alone to prepare for a party? Come on, dish up some of those scramble eggs and fish fingers so that we can start blowing up the balloons. Luzaan sets the table quickly and dishes up the scramble eggs and toast. She places the plate in front of Eric with a cup of hot coffee. “Thank you Luzaan, my favourite breakfast, soft scramble eggs on toasted rye bread.” Luzaan finds herself staring at Eric while he is eating his breakfast. How is it that she has everything wrong? She could swear that scramble eggs are the twin’s favourite breakfast as well. While she is staring at Eric, she slightly feels ashamed that the night before she involved him in her personal problems. “Luzaan, don’t you think you should go and lay down a bit? Rest you eyes? The twin’s are still asleep and the party is only later in the afternoon.” “I am dead certain of myself. I must keep myself busy, or else my thoughts will dwell on Bevan again.” For the rest of the day Luzaan, the twins and Eric transforms the backyard into a venue for a party. The bright red and blue cushions are pulled over the garden chairs for the event, while the balloons of the same colours are tied to all the trees and poles in the backyard. The excitement that the twins were displaying made the storm that was brewing within her disappear for the time being. It is about an hours time before the party should start that Luzaan realized all was in place. Luzaan walks up to the twins and gives them each a peck on the forehead. “Thank you guys, when the time arrives for the guests to arrive we will then take the cake out and the platters. Surely many hands do make light work.” Eric stands casually in front of Luzaan. “This is the last time I am offering my service for helping. Don’t I get a peck on the forehead too.” Luzaan blushes, so flattered, but gives Eric a kiss on the forehead. Their eyes meet and they share a moment lost in each others gaze. Eric was the first to break the stare and he turned on his heels to enter the house. Luzaan followed him to the door and wondered if the twins notice the awkward moment between them. Luzaan returned to the kitchen and put on a kettle to make coffee. “ A cup of coffee while the boys have a bath?” She asked shyly. “That will be great, thanks Luzaan” Luzaan notices that Eric is very uncomfortable in her presence. She wonders if it is because of the kiss she gave him or is it something else. The thought of involving Eric in the lie of Bevan’s visit is also still on Luzaan’s mind and it is playing havoc. Luzaan is so deep in thought that she gets a fright when Eric begins to speak. “I always believe in telling the truth Luzaan, I know you will be cross with me.” Luzaan doesn’t want to disappoint her visitor and tells him she is sorry for involving him in the lie, but she seems to notice a stern facial expression she has never seen before. “I wanted to tell you earlier, but my mood didn’t allow it. When you saw me early this morning walk into the kitchen, I did not go for a morning walk as I told you. I went to look for Bevan to tell him the truth about the boys. In doing that I also invited him to the boys birthday party.” Luzaan so wished that he was fibbing and pulling her leg about inviting Bevan to the party, but he continues talking. “ It wasn’t difficult to tract him down, you know. Our small town only has one guesthouse and his car was in the parking area. The Father alone knows Luzaan, I too could not fall asleep. I tossed and turned in bed the whole night. I lost my dad at a young age the boys have a second chance to getting to know their father.” Luzaan wanted to scream at Eric, the chiming of the door bell disrupted her hysterical outburst. Her hysteria wanted to take control of the situation as the person that was standing in her doorway was Bevan with a slight smirk on his face. The mocking smile on his dial did not make matters easier for Luzaan. He pushed past Luzaan and enters the lounge and makes himself comfortable on the sofa. “I am not here to make trouble Luzaan. Eric and I agreed that I would attend the party and at a later stage inform the boys that I am their biological father. Is that alright with you.” Luzaan does not answer. She feels powerless standing there between the two men. Eric at the dining table and Bevan sitting on the sofa. She turns around slowly and makes her way to her bedroom to prepare herself for the party. She baths quickly and tells herself not to get too emotional for the sake of the boys. As she stands in front of the mirror in her bedroom she asks her reflection how Eric could betray her trust by telling Bevan about the boys. The boys enjoy themselves at their birthday party with their friends. Nobody asks about the strange uncle that was silently sitting in a chair under the shady tree. Luzaan was happy with the fact the Bevan did not make a spectacle out of himself and nuisance. Bevan on the other hand was quite overjoyed that he was a father of not one teenage boy but two lovely boys. He was in his own dream world. He has so much to think about, so much to decide on what to do. He knows that the relationship he had with Luzaan will never be the same again, but he wants to build a firm, trusting relationship with his sons, and that he wants his place as their father again. “Could I greet the boys before I leave? I promise I will be tactful.” Eric and Luzaan are standing within hearing distance and they listen to Bevan as he greets the boys. Both boys thank him for the cell phones he gave them as birthday presents. Bevan brushes their curly heads playfully and makes his way to Eric and Luzaan to great them as he makes his way out. “I am not cross with you, Zanna. I understand and I am very thankful I got a second chance from you to make up for lost time. You and Eric raised them well. I know my place.” Luzaan watches Bevan as he climbs into his car and drives away. She suddenly feels a weight lift off her shoulders and so wishes the last of her sons friends could leave so that she could finally get some sleep. Before she could make her way to the backyard, Eric stops her in her tracts in the kitchen. He touches her softly on her arm and leads her to the sofa in the lounge. Luzaan surprises him by speaking first. “Eric, what precisely did you tell Bevan?” “What do you mean,Luzaan?” “Bevan thanked you and me for doing such a good job on raising the boys.” Eric stares at her with a strange gleam in his eyes. “I am sorry that I told Bevan about the boys. I also realize that you no longer have feelings for him and that there could be a chance for us for having a relationship.” “What are you talking about Eric?’ “Luzaan, I fell in love with you. This situation of Bevan arriving here was as if I was standing in a cold shower. I don’t want to loose you Luzaan. I know in the past Bevan hurt you, but if you will allow me to give you a clean scour and give you a good polish and shine, we might can make you fit into my lonely soul.” Luzaan starts to laugh, “Remember one thing, while you don’t believe in lies, we must as soon as possible get married.” He jumps off the sofa and holds her tightly in his arms. ‘Enough said, give me a decent kiss. This time definitely not on my forehead.” Luzaan laughs loudly when she catches her breath. “This rusting pot lid has found its number one cooking pot.”

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page