top of page
Search

Kenhardt - Secrets 30

Updated: Nov 26, 2021

‘I wouldn’t stay with someone like that,’ Joe said. ‘Flirting with other girls, giving them rides.’ ‘It’s not like that!’ Beth said. ‘Our relationship is fine. And none of your business, by the way.’ ‘So let’s go back to Haddie for a minute.’ Beth made a sound. ‘This looks bad. Okay, I admit that. I shouldn’t have texted her. I can see why you might think this looks like a threat.’ ‘You said OR ELSE, Beth. That is a threat.’ ‘But I wasn’t serious! It was just a warning. So that she’d stay away from my boyfriend.’ ‘And what did you plan to do if she didn’t?’ Beth shrugged. ‘I don’t know. It never came to that.’ ‘So you’re used to making idle threats?’ ‘I guess. Haven’t you ever said something you didn’t mean?’ Joe didn’t respond. ‘Detective, I can assure you that I had nothing to do with Haddie or the other girls’ deaths. You can ask anyone! I’m not a murderer! And besides, even if I did want to push Haddie off a roof, why the hell would I push Kiera and Anya off as well? It just doesn’t make sense.?’ ‘Good logic,’ Joe said. ‘But who knows what you’re capable of.’ Her mouth fell open. ‘I may have had my issues with Haddie, but I can assure you, I would never Kill someone!. Over a boy, especially. That’s just insane. Do you think I’m insane? They must have jumped. Everybody already believes that. Those three did everything together. Everything. Live together - die together.’ Beth paused for a moment, ‘Maybe they were the insane ones.’ Joe stared at her, allowing his silence to speak for itself. ‘Do I need to call a lawyer?’ she finally asked. ‘Depends,’ Joe said. ‘Do you think you’ll need one?’ Only a short hour later and Beth Porter was free to go. Joe had only needed to make a quick call to the principal to check the attendance to see that Beth was in class and well accounted for at the time of the deaths. That settled things. Beth had nothing to do with this. Unfortunate, really. Joe believed he was finally onto something. Now what was there to do? He had made note to return to the Wilson’s and the Barnes’ today to speak with them, yet again. The only question was, what else was there to say? There was a question in the back of his mind that had been there for a few days now. It was formed when he was speaking to the principal, Mrs Langley. He was thinking about possible suspects, who would want the girls dead, who could be capable of killing them. They must have know that the girls would be up on that roof. It was a common meeting place of theirs. So was this an opportunistic kill? Was it an accident? A confrontation taken too far? Was the killer after one girl and the other two were simply witnesses? Collateral damage? What possible motive would one have? Did the girls do something to someone? Were they planning to do something? Did they know something they shouldn’t have? Suspects. That’s what he was thinking about. Who could it be? It was limited to three categories: Students, faculty, and others. Students included their close - knit group of girlfriends, as well as the boys, such as Oliver and Bentley. Faculty wasn’t far - fetched either. Could a teacher have gone up there? A janitor? Someone looking for the girls? And then there was other. This included anyone from Kenhardt. Strangers, neighbours, parents. The last one was what got to him. Most of the time when there were murders such as this, it’s someone close to the family. Boyfriend and Secret boyfriend were both ruled out. The other girls had alibis and no motive. So could it have been a parent? There were seven of them, each with their own opinions and perceptions of the girls. Perhaps one of them went up there to find the girls - their daughter, perhaps. Something happens, there’s an argument, something goes wrong. Did the parents like their daughter’s friends? Far as he could tell, they all seemed to get along with each other. But there was one thing that Joe noticed, and it was that nearly everyone in this community that he had spoken to had something to say about one of the girls’ in particular. And that was Haddie Taylor. What was so different about her? What made her stand out from the other two? Chloe Wilson had said that Kiera was Haddie’s shadow. Hyper, bubbly, full of energy, but always in the ranks with Haddie, struggling to keep up with Queen Bee. Then there was Anya, Sweet, quiet Anya. It wasn’t a wonder why she didn’t stand out. The girl probably did her best to blend in, stay away from attention and hide in the crowds. Odd, seeing that she was friends with Haddie and Kiera. Two dominant personalities and one passive. But clearly the three of them bonded like no other. One of the girls - either Miera or Rachel - had mentioned that Anya wasn’t like that when she was with the girls. She let loose, had fun. Maybe it was only an illusion, this other side of Anya. OR maybe her outgoing side was the illusion, put on to conform to Societal norms and blend in with Kiera and Haddie. The case was complicated when it should have been straight - forward. Three girls turn up dead. Is it suicide or homicide? Why was it proving so difficult to rule out one or the other? Joe couldn’t help but feel that he was going through all this work, all of these interviews and interrogations, trying to find a killer, when in all honesty, a killer may not even exist. What if it really was suicide? It was thoughts such as those that made it difficult. Doubting himself, unsure of what to think. Just when he was sure of one idea, he was brought back to another. Did they jump off that building or were they pushed? The answer lied somewhere in this town. Joe just needed to try harder to locate it. Vivian Barnes sat on the couch across from Joe. Patrick was at work, expectedly, so the conversation would be left to the two of them. Joe assumed that speaking to the mother of a teenage girl would prove beneficial enough as a separate entity. Mother’s always know more…. ‘How are you holding up?’ Joe asked. ‘I’m okay,’ Vivian said. ‘It’s an ache that will never stop hurting. But I’m managing.’ Joe nodded. ‘Did you think of anyone who might have done something like this?’ She shook her head. ‘I tried, but I just can’t think of anyone. Kiera was such a good girl. And so were Anya and Haddie. I can’t imagine why anyone would ever do such a thing. They were innocent…’ she began to cry. Joe handed her the tissue box and waited for her to collect herself. ‘People are talking,’ Vivian said. ‘They’re still saying that it was suicide.’ ‘We don’t know that for sure,’ Joe said. She looked at him. ‘What do you think, Detective?’ He Didn’t know how to answer her. ‘It doesn’t matter what I think. It matters what I can prove.’ ‘It does matter.’ Vivian said. ‘It matters. Do you think the girls did this? You think they jumped?’ He hesitated. ‘I’m impartial.’ he said. ‘I follow the evidence, find the facts. That’s what matters.’ She nodded her head, accepting his answer. ‘How did you get along with the other parents?” Joe asked. ‘The Taylor’s and the Wilson’s?’ ‘We got along well. I went to school with Rosie Taylor. Known her since we were young.’ ‘Were you two close?’ ‘Not particularly. Just friendly. We reconnected once the girls became friends.’ ‘And what about the other parents? You all get along, you would say?’ ‘Yes. I communicate more with Rosie and Mary - Ellen. John and George, no. And John’s wife, Pamela, not at all. Perhaps Patrick could be of more help there.’ ‘No, that’s fine,’ Joe said. ‘I just wanted to know how the overall relationship was.’ She nodded. ‘What did you think of Haddie?’ Joe asked. Vivian seemed caught off guard. ‘What do you mean?’ ‘Did you like her? Were you happy that she and Kiera were friends?’ ‘Yes,’ she said. ‘They always got along splendidly. Haddie was a sweet girl.’ ‘I know that some people have certain thoughts about Haddie,’ ‘What kind of thoughts?’ ‘Maybe she wasn’t the best influence all of the time?’ ‘I don’t know,’ Vivian said. ‘The girls are not the passive types. They can stand up for themselves and make their own choices. If Haddie ever pressured the girls into doing anything. I’m sure Kiera and Anya wouldn’t have stood for it. Well, Kiera at least. I can’t speak for Anya.’ ‘What makes you say that?’ ‘Anya’s the quiet one. The pushover. I can’t be certain that if Haddie told the girls to do something that she wouldn’t just comply.’ ‘But Kiera wouldn’t?’ ‘No, Kiera is independent,’ Vivian said, and Joe noticed that she continually referred to the girls in present tense. ‘That’s why she and Haddie would butt heads sometimes.’ ‘Do you know if anyone in Kenhardt had a problem with Haddie?’ ‘Not that I’m aware of. She’s a sixteen - year - old girl, how many people could she have a problem with?’ ‘Did Kiera have a boyfriend?’ Joe asked suddenly. Vivian’s face changed. ‘A boyfriend? No, No she didn’t. Why?’ ‘Haddie had a boyfriend, correct?’ ‘Yes, Oliver.’ ‘Right,’ Joe said, trying to pick up on any indication that Vivian knew about her daughter’s secret Love Affair. ‘What about Anya? Any boys there?’ ‘I wouldn’t know. You’d have to ask her parents.’ ‘I will,’ Joe nodded. ‘I will do just that.’ He visited Mary - Ellen Wilson next. She was rushing around her house, trying to tidy things up. To Joe, everything looked fine. But of course, he wasn’t a woman. Or a mother. ‘Sorry to see you again under such short notice.’ Joe said. ‘No need to apologize,’ Mary - Ellen said once she finally took a seat. ‘Has something happened? A break in the case?’ Joe shook his head. ‘I just wanted to talk to you again. Go over a few more things.’ ‘Of course,’ Mary - Ellen nodded. ‘What can I do?’ ‘How would you describe the relationship between the parents? You, the Barnes’ and the Taylor’s?’ ‘Well, we see each other from time to time. Have a few chats whenever we were dropping off or picking up the girls’ from one another’s place. But other than that, there’s not much else to it.’ ‘Were the girls close with any of the other parents?’ Mary - Ellen thought for a moment. ‘I know Anya always loved going to Kiera’s place. I think it’s because they have a big house and lots of property. They’re well -off, have a lot of money. And they have a stable family environment. Anya was accustomed to switching back and forth between here and her dad’s place. And as you can see, I don’t have the nicest home.’ ‘So Anya enjoyed being there,’ Joe said. ‘Did she get along with Vivian and Patrick?’ ‘I believe so. They’re nice people, Always very accommodating and welcoming.’ Joe nodded. Then he said, ‘Were you aware of the fact that Anya was taking Zoplicone and Zoloft?’ Mary - Ellen’s face changed. ‘What?’ ‘Medication for Insomnia and ….’ ‘I know what they’re taken for,’ Mary said. ‘But I didn’t know Anya was taking them. How do you know this?’ ‘Tox - screen came back. Both medications were in her system when she …’ ‘OH’ ‘She never said anything to you?’ Joe asked. Mary shook her head. ‘No. She didn’t.’ Joe wanted to ask her if she knew her daughter was also smoking Dagga, but he decided it was better to omit that part. ‘Did Anya have a boyfriend? Or have any boyfriends in the past?’ ‘She didn’t have a boyfriend, no,’ Mary paused. ‘Now that I think about it, I don’t recall her ever really having boyfriends!’ ‘Perhaps she didn’t tell you?’ Mary shook her head. ‘No, if Anya had a boyfriend, she would have told me. I think she just preferred to be alone. She was very studious - always focused on her schoolwork and extracurricular.’ ‘Is there anything else you can think of, Mrs Wilson? Anything you’d like to add before I get going?’ ‘Not that I can think of. But I have your card. I will contact you if I have any questions or anything else I think is important.’ They both stood. ‘Thank you,’ Joe said. ‘And again, I’m so very sorry.’ It was four O’clock, time to head back to Riverton. By the time he got home, Jordan was just coming down the stairs, ready to leave for her parent’s place. ‘You’re late,’ she said to Joe as he walked through the door. He looked at his watch, it was four - fifty - three. He was actually ahead of time. Jordan met him at the bottom of the stairs and gave him a kiss before turning around again to grab her shoes. Joe hurried up the stairs, changed into something dressy - but - casual, then met Jordan by the front door. ‘Ready?’ he smiled. ‘Yes,’ she kissed him again . ’ Thank you for breakfast and the Roses.’ ‘Of course. Happy Birthday my Love.’ Dinner at the Hopkins’ was extravagant, as always. Jordan’s mother was Polish and was constantly introducing Joe to new dishes. The whole family was in attendance, from Jordan’s sister, Elmarie, to her brother, Tom and his wife, Krista. Jordan’s parents - Katherine and Tom Sr. And then there was Jordan’s GRANDMOTHER… Joe enjoyed visits with Jordan’s family. They were the type of people who could laugh at themselves. Joe had grown up in a household that was strict and conservative. His parents had high - expectations of him and his sister. And while Kayla proved herself worthy and lived up to their parent’s idealized perceptions of her, Joe always saw himself as lesser. Joe’s father was diagnosed with early on set Alzheimer’s a few years back. When things got bad, they had to move him to a home where he would have round - the - clock care. His mother lived alone. Joe tried to visit them once in a while, but it was never a priority. The relationship simply wasn’t what it used to be. Seeing his father was a bit easier because at least they could have a conversation without all his father’s preconceived judgements. Sometimes he recognized his own son - other times, he did not. When he wasn’t lucid, they could talk about almost anything, Sports, the weather, politics. It was easier this way. Joe thought. Visiting with his mother was a different story. She had always favoured Kayla and Joe knew that. There was a tension in the air that Joe couldn’t quite get passed. As though his mother was still judging him for every single detail of his life. But at least here, with the Hopkins’, there was no judgement - just love and laughter. Joe surveyed the room and watched as everyone chatted and enjoyed themselves. Tom Jr, and Krista were pregnant and expecting their first child soon. It was a girl. They would have a daughter. Jordan would have a niece. It was an exciting time. Jordan loved babies. Joe knew that she probably thought about it quite often - having children, that is, But Jordan knew better than to talk about it with Joe. It would come up eventually, But they would cross that Bridge when the time came. ‘Oh, Gran.’ Jordan said suddenly, looking across the table to her grandmother. ‘I’ve been meaning to tell you - Joe is working a case in Kenhardt right now.’ Jordan’s grandmother - who everyone called Gran Suzanne - turned to him. ‘You are? What on earth are you doing there?’ ‘Investigating a triple death, unfortunately.’ ‘Oh, goodness. What happened?” she asked. The room quieted as everyone else began to listen in. ‘Three girls were found dead at their school. Plunged off the roof. It’s still unclear whether it was suicide or a homicide.’ ‘Westley or St.Paul’s?’ Suzanne asked. ‘St Paul’s’ Suzanne nodded. ‘I was telling Joe how you grew up there,’ Jordan said. ‘Any tips you have for him in terms of navigating around?’ Suzanne laughed. ‘Stay away from Chi - Chi’s’ ‘What’s Chi - Chi’s?’ ‘It’s an old Italian restaurant by the lake,’ she said. ‘Terrible produce. Especially their meatballs. Always gave people food poisoning. I believe it’s still around. Gosh, I Haven’t been for some time.’ ‘I’ll make a note to stay away,’ Joe laughed. ‘I lived on Hazel Street,’ Suzanne said. ‘You know where that is?’ ‘I believe I’ve passed it a few times. It’s so small there, I feel like I’m going in circles most of the time.’ ‘I lived in the corner house. The one with the giant fur tree out front.’ ‘When did you leave?’ Joe inquired. ‘A very long time ago,’ she laughed. ‘I only stayed in Kenhardt until I was about twenty - five. Then I knew I had to get out. Riverton was calling my name. And so was My Jack.’ ‘My grandfather,’ Jordan said to Joe. ‘He passed away a few years ago.’ ‘I’m sorry.’ Joe said. ‘He was a good man,’ Suzanne said. ‘Very smart. He could tell you anything.’ Jordan’s father added. ‘Like a human calculator,’ Elmarie said. ‘If I hadn’t have left Kenhardt, I never would have met Jack. And then none of these ones would be here,’ Suzanne laughed. ‘Thank you for leaving, then, Gran,’ Jordan teased. ‘Speaking of Kenhardt,’ Joe said to Suzanne. ‘You must know of THE SAD KILLER?’ ‘Oh, Christ, here we go again,’ Jordan rolled her eyes. ‘You told me I could ask her.’ ‘Of course I know The Sad Killer! SuzAnne exclaimed. ‘Well, not personally.’ ‘How old were you at the time?’ Joe asked. ‘Young, I bet.’ ‘Oh, yes. I was about twenty - three, twenty - four I believe. But I remember like it was yesterday……’ 'A person who has spoiled his stomach will criticize his meal saying that the food is bad; the same thing happens with people who are not satisfied with their lives...'


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page