top of page
Search

GUILTY 7

Updated: May 20, 2022

CONTINUED FROM LAST NIGHT…. ‘Did you ask him about this?’ ‘Yes, I mentioned it once he got home from work. He said he had no idea.’ ‘Okay,’ I say, writing this down as quickly as I can, Rosie. ‘I’ll talk to Mr Waters about it, just to be sure. Thank you for mentioning this to me.’ She smiles sympathetically and nods. ‘Tell me about your family. How are your husband and kids?’ I try to switch the focus back to her. ‘They’re good. I have three littles, which you probably know by now. Gracie, Yvonne and Emilio. They’re very sweet, loving children. They’re in school right now.’ ‘Do you and your husband make much money at the Laundromat?’ Her mouth flattens into a line. ‘We’re managing. Steven is looking for another job right now. We need some extra money for the children’s schooling and such. It Hasn’t been easy for us’ I jot down financial struggles. Possible motive for kidnap and ransom? Perhaps. But perhaps not. Do I really think the nanny took the child? No. She seems to be a genuine, sweet woman. But with financial strain, that’s a possible motive. And in my career, I’ve learned that even the sweetest faces can have the darkest intentions. We chat a little while longer, getting as many questions in as I can. I glance down at my watch again and see that it’s a little after nine - thirty. I was planning to head back over to the Waters’ and update them on the investigation, which at the moment, reveals nothing new. But nonetheless, I told Danny that I would keep her updated, so that is what I plan to do. By the time I get back to the station, file some paper work, and talk to a few of the officers, it’s nearly eleven - thirty. I shut off my computer and head for the Waters’ residence. A large Victorian bungalow, mahogany bricks, double garage with beige doors. There’s a blue Honda Civic parked in the driveway. I don’t recognize it from yesterday, which means someone else is here. I walk up the steps and ring the doorbell, noticing the flowers beginning to sprout in the garden. Spring time. The door opens and Danny stands there eagerly, as if expecting me. I take in her appearance. She’s wearing light grey track pants and a white t-shirt. Her black hair thrown up into a messy pony tail, her slim figure evident through the baggy clothes she wears. Her eyes red and swollen; she’s been crying. ‘Any news?’ she asks, hopeful at merely the sight of me. When I show up at someone's doorstep, it’s either good news, bad news, or no news at all. ‘Nothing yet, I’m afraid. May I come in?’ She opens the door wider and I step inside. There’s a man sitting at the kitchen table. Our eyes meet and he stands up, walks towards me. ‘I’m Collin,’ he says once he’s close enough, sticks out his hand. 'Danniella's brother.' I shake it, firm grip, ‘Detective Sullivan.’ ‘Officer Holden was here,’ Danniella says as she walks around the kitchen table and stands against the counter. ‘He said that someone was going to speak with Marcia?’ I stand there, unsure whether to take a seat or continue standing. I decide to stand. ‘I was just over there, actually.’ ‘Does she know anything?’ ‘Not really. I’m afraid. Do you or your husband know anyone by the name of Rose or Rosie?’ ‘No, why?’ ‘You’re sure? Could Winston possibly have a co - worker by this name?’ ‘Not that I’m aware of. Why? Who is she?’ ‘Just something your nanny mentioned, but nothing to worry about,’ I say. ‘Anyway, Mrs Mendoza did mention their financial troubles. Were you aware of this?’ ‘Financial troubles?’ ‘Yes. They’re been struggling with money for a while now.’ ‘And… what does this have to do with Emerald?’ ‘Are you and Mrs Mendoza close?’ She hesitates. ‘I wouldn’t say close. She looks after my child. What more is there to it?’ ‘She said you and Winston are like family,’ ‘I guess. We treat her nicely and pay her well. I appreciate her coming in and looking after Emerald.’ ‘Do you know her husband, Steven?’ ‘No, not really. I may have met him once or twice when he was picking up Marcia. They only have one car, so when she doesn’t take the bus, he drives her.’ ‘Did Steven ever meet Emerald?’ She thinks for a moment. ‘I don’t think so. I’m not really sure.’ ‘Would you say that Mr Mendoza is, how do I put this, a determined man? He cares for his family, wants them to be safe, secure…. Happy?’ ‘Well, yes, I’d assume so,’ she says. ‘Don’t most fathers? I mean, I empathize for their family, I really do. I wish we could give them more. Their situation isn’t the greatest.’ ‘I see,’ ‘Why are you asking me this? You think he had something to do with Emerald’s abduction?’ I don’t want to frighten her. That’s the worst thing you can do to an already - scared mother. I don’t have any solid proof - just a theory, a very rudimentary theory with nothing to back me up so far. But I have to be objective. Theory goes, Steven Mendoza sees his family struggling. He knows his wife works for a well - off family with a child. Perhaps Steven believes he has a solution to their money problems after all. However, if Steven is responsible, why hasn’t he made a ransom demand yet? I don’t want to start pointing fingers when there is zero evidence of such a thing. For now, I will keep Danny in the dark while I investigate. ‘No need to be worried,’ I say. ‘I’m just following protocol. I will follow up on some leads I may have and I’ll get back to you in a few hours.’ She still looks concerned, but tries to force a smile. ‘Alright, thank you - for everything.’ ‘Of course. I will do everything in my power to bring your daughter home.’


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comentarios


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page