top of page
Search

GOLDEN HEART 14

FLASHBACK CONTINUED…


‘As I said earlier, from this moment on I’m his lawyer.’ She handed the paper I just signed to him, as if mocking his defeated expression. ‘Shall we begin then?’ She opened the suit case she was carrying.


‘There’s strong evidence against him.’ The prosecutor claimed.


‘Such as?’ She said looking down at some documents in her hands.


‘The alibi he claims to have doesn’t match, there’s no one to support his claim, and these photos state something else.’ He presented her with few photos of my car being in an abandoned area.


‘This is it? No pictures of him inside it?’ She looked at him.


‘The license plate is under his name, the car is on the crime scene four minutes before the time was said to have been killed.’


‘Just because the car is his doesn’t mean he was in it, if the killer wanted to frame him he could easily have stolen it. If this is the strong evidence it could have been stolen. If this is the strong evidence you were talking about then I’m really disappointed with our country’s prosecution competency.’ She declared.


‘Here’s evidence supporting his alibi, his sister fell ill so he went outside of the city to meet her, he took the train there. These are the photos’ of the CCTV of the station.’ She handed him the pictures.


They said the CCTV’s were broken, just how the hell did she get those pictures.


‘The CCTV’s weren’t broken after all, just someone was trying to ruin him in the most amateurish way I’ve ever witnessed, or they thought they can buy everyone instead of thoroughly getting rid to the evidences.’ She unknowingly answered my silent question.


‘We have his confession!’ The prosecutor snapped irritated.


‘I have two problems with that piece of evidence. One, it was acquired illegally which makes me curious why it was listed on the evidence/Discoveries list in the first place, second, I have the full conversation that clarifies how that wasn’t a confession in the first place.’ She was right.


I never confessed to any crime, I was just talking with that bastard Gerald about how there was no evidence I murdered the guy, but he cut the whole conversation and made it seem like I was confessing. However what I’m curious about is how she got her hands on it.


When the prosecutor heard the whole conversation, he sighed defeated. It was basically the end of his ‘strong evidences’ legibility, but he had to take one last shot.


‘Everything you presented can be fabricated.’ Even he wasn’t that confident about this case anymore.


The woman handed him a new set of documents. ‘This is the analysis of Dr Webber. I’m sure his word is legitimate enough for you.’ She stated.


Seeing the prosecutor’s expression she gathered her stuff and put them back inside her bag. I’ll consider this is the end of this interrogation, we’ll take our leave then.’ She said and ushered for me to stand up.


‘Oh, one more thing! Instead of trying to ruin an innocent person’s life why not prosecute real criminals. And just your Luck the perfect opportunity just presented itself to you. I’m suing that incompetent lawyer for defaming, taking bribes, misuse of power, and much more. I’ll be submitting the list to you tomorrow morning. Make sure you do it right, or you’ll be next on the list, Prosecutor…’ she looked at his badge before speaking again. ‘Prosecutor Liam O’Bryan.’ she said. ‘And I expect all the charges to be dropped and for my client’s record to be cleared too.’ She nodded slightly in his way before making her way out.


‘Fucking, Gold Digging incompetent trash.’ She murmured to herself, causing me to chuckle slightly.


Her head snapped my way before she smiled herself. ‘The cold right hand man of Ours knows how to smile too! Now that’s a discovery.’ She exclaimed in mock wonder.


‘You know, don’t you?’ I asked.


‘What?’


‘That I actually killed him.’ I confessed.


‘Of course, I don’t take cases blindly. There are standards I follow.’


‘Then why did you defend me when you know that I’m in fact guilty of the charges? Why did you save me instead of revealing the truth.’


‘Because I see potential. I pick my people based on their possible potentials.’ She said, and then suddenly threw her bag to one of the guys that I didn’t know were following us until now.


‘Don’t follow us.’ She ordered the same guy, he nodded before heading into a different way.


‘Can you pull the car out, I’ll be right there.’ She told me.


I nodded. ‘I never got your name.’ I stated moving backwards.


‘A-L or Professor will be suffice for now.’ She answered smiling.


I nodded again, turned back, and started walking normally to the parking lot while smiling. However my joy was short lived when I spotted few men waiting for me with metal Baseball bats while smirking.


‘Couldn’t he wait until tomorrow after I rest?’ I asked, feigning surprise.


‘The earlier the better. The babies are waiting for their dinner.’ Answered the guy that replaced him in Ours. He was referring to the tigers the bastard Fischer was raising in the mini zoo on one of his properties.


I scoffed at his statement before I lunged at them and the fight started.


I was busy fighting two of the guys, and bent slightly to avoid one of their punches when I felt a hand on my back and as soon as it was there it was gone. I looked up to see A-L flying above me, only to land moments later, knocking one of the men who apparently was sneaking behind my back, off his feet.


‘The more time passes 'the Chapter 'that ex Boss of yours get.’ She said to me while panting a bit which I assumed was because of the running she just did to reach me on time.


A total stranger just saved me twice today, from the one whom I spent more than a decade serving, loyally and who was hell bent on destroying me.


‘Hey, guys, you really don’t have to waste your time and energy. We all know that this bulky man here will Win eventually.’ She said touching my arm muscles slightly as if to emphasise her point.


I glared at her, she was complicating things for us.


She looked at me and shrugged at my obvious glare, then she glanced at the men who were obviously not backing out without a fight. ‘Don’t say I didn’t warn you.’ She started. ‘Shall we, then.’ She smirked, looking at me.


I was so caught up in the fight that I didn’t notice one the men sneaking behind me until I felt something heavy hitting the back of my head, the force knocking the air out of my lungs.


‘JÜRGEN!’ I saw and heard everything in a slow motion. A-L’s scream, her running form heading towards me before crouching next to me and cradling my head in her lap.


‘MÜLLER!’ She shouted, and a young but bulky man appeared out of nowhere.


‘Tell the guards to gather those assholes and throw them in jail. I don’t want anyone of them escaping if that happens you’ll be paying severely.’ She threatened. ‘Call Bertha to do the legal procedures. I want them in jail as long as possible, and call an ambulance.’ She ordered.


‘Yes, ma’am.’ The man nodded before going about the order he just received.


My vision started getting blurry. ‘Stay with me, Jürgen! Don’t you dare close your eyes!’ She hissed.


However I couldn’t fight the urge to sleep anymore.


Before I surrendered to darkness, I promised myself one thing.


That if I survived this, I’ll always protect and be with this woman who risked all to save me.



END OF FLASHBACK







5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

コメント


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page