top of page
Search

GOLDEN HEART 8

CONTINUED FROM THE OTHER DAY...


‘I know, but I’m afraid that - that would be the reason the same drama would take place again. My brother came to know of my hiding and of you, which means my father isn’t far away.’ Her tone was very different from the one of the woman I knew as my PA, she wasn’t confident anymore, this woman in my arms was betrayed and vulnerable.


How can a father be the reason of fear in his only daughter’s life, he wasn’t even worthy of the title he possesses. He wasn’t - isn’t worthy of her.


‘They won’t do anything, not when I’m here. No one will ever harm you in any way.’


‘Harm was already done. I’m afraid they would use me to get to you and your wealth, or they would drag me back to that worthless excuse of an ex. Money attracts them like a ‘Moth to flame’ after all.’ She confessed.


‘Never! Nobody will ever take you away from me, and they certainly can’t outsmart me in my own domain.’ I’m sure she could feel the tension in my body, and no matter how much I hated to distress her I couldn’t control my anger at the mere thoughts of anyone taking her from me.


I would ruin anybody that tries to come in between us. She was mine, and I would be damned if I sit there watching her being terrorised by those pieces of shits and do nothing.


Jealously and possessiveness had always been the trigger to my BEAST. I never tolerate when someone threatens what’s mine, my already short temper would skyrocket, and the consequences of such are always Dire.


Soon her breathing evened out, I laid her on the bed careful not to wake her.


I kissed her forehead tenderly and headed to my home office to prepare for the meeting tomorrow.


I wish today was the last day I encounter any of her family members, for their sake.


Though there was something telling that - that won’t be the case.


JUSTINE WRIGHT


To say I wasn’t scared when he threw the vase on the wall would be a lie, I’ve never seen Adam this angry. He was always the calm and composed businessman the world knew, so to see this side of him was unnerving.


His sister told me once that he was a total different person when he’s angry, but I’ve never believed it because I never experienced it firsthand. Not until now at least.


I woke up the next day to people shouting and yelling, I groaned when I failed to ignore the noise and fall back to sleep. I lifted myself from the comfort of the silk blankets begrudgingly.


I decided to freshen up before I had to face my sleep - disturbers.


When I finished, I threw some sweatpants and a black crop - top on before heading downstairs, only to stand frozen in my place. Adam was pinning a redhead to the wall by her throat, her face’s colour is sick pale due to the lack of air. ‘What part of never show your pathetic ass in my house you didn’t understand?’ He hissed in her ear.


‘She doesn’t deserve you! Yyyyou wwere supposed to be mine.’ She tried to scream the words out but came as a chocked whisper.


Adam tightened his hold on her some more. ‘Careful there, darling. That’s my wife you’re talking about, we wouldn’t want for you to lose that pretty head of yours, now would we?’ He threatened in a calm whisper.


I decided to cut in before something terrible happens. ‘I’m pretty sure she understands that, Adam.’


Their heads snapped in my direction, Adam’s eyes filled with love an adoration while the redhead’s were filled with disgust, hatred and malice.


I paid her no attention and focused on Adam instead. Urging him with my eyes to leave the woman’s neck before he actually snapped it. Moments later she was on the floor, gasping and coughing trying to take in as much air as possible.


Then she looked up at me after minutes. ‘Do you think you won just because he listens to you?’ She seethed. ‘If so, you’re terribly mistaken. I’ll never back down. I’ll never be replaced by some stupid slut like yourself!’ She yelled the last part.


I rolled my eyes at her. Adam seemed to be having trouble controlling his temper, and she just stupidly stepped on his last straw. Hadn’t she heard of what he did to those who disrespected me in front of him in the past? Didn’t she read Newspapers, it was all over them!


Stupid Bitch.


Adam slapped her hard almost snapping her neck, I was hungry and not in the mood to see or hear anything else. ‘Let Jeff handle her, and lets’ eat, Adam. I’m hungry!’ I said when I saw he was about to do more damage.


‘Consider yourself lucky, if not for her you’d be regretting the mere act of glancing her way.’ He said glaring at her. ‘JEFF!’ He boomed, Jeff was in front of him in a jiffy.


‘Get rid of this trash, and make sure it’s the last time I see her.’ He ordered.


Jeff was Adam’s chauffeur and bodyguard at the same time. He’s not only his most trusted employee, but also his friend. He was a man of a few words, yet we clicked almost instantly.


Jeff snatched her up by her arm, and took her away from our sight, wailing and promising to come back, that this wasn’t the end. I paid her screams no attention at all. Adam and I made our way to the dining room to find the maids already serving breakfast.


We started eating in silence, after few minutes Adam decided to break it. ‘I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to wake you up.’ He said smiling apologetically.


‘It’s not a big deal.’ I assured with a smile.


He nodded and we resumed eating. ‘She seemed quite upset about us being together, who was she?’ I asked.


‘Some old fling who thought she was more than just a bed warmer.’ He shrugged nonchalantly.


I didn’t comment on that, what was I supposed to say? You should have being with her? No matter how much I told myself I didn’t deserve Adam, I just couldn’t bring myself to give him up. He was the only person who stuck by my side no matter what, he was always there. Patiently waiting, hoping that I would reciprocate whatever feelings he had for me.


Even when I didn’t give off anything indicating there’s a chance I gave us a try, he still stood by my side and never gave up. He was my solace, my protector. His embrace is my safe haven, everything I’ll ever need or want.


‘You’re not upset, are you?’ He asked after awhile.


I looked up at him, ‘No, why would I be?’ I asked confused.


‘I thought you hated hearing about my flings?’ His statement turned into an unsure question.


‘What kind of a sane woman would like to hear about her boyfriend’s flings, let alone her fiance’s.’ I said.


‘I’m sorry, I didn’t know she would be bold enough to come to our home after I made it clear that I never wanted to see her again.’


‘You Don’t need to apologise, it wasn’t your fault. Besides, I have a hunch you’re not like the others, you won’t betray me.’ I said.


‘What?’ I asked after I realised he was staring at me for quite some time.


‘You don’t know how happy you just made me.’ He said grinning.


‘What?’ I questioned dumbly.


‘You just called me your fiance and kind of admitted you trust me.’ He stated happily.


‘Yeah, yeah, whatever.’ I turned away, blushing slightly.


He chuckled at my actions, and pulled my chair impossibly close to his before he lifted me up from it and onto his lap. He nuzzled my neck still laughing. ‘I so wish you’re not having fun on my expense, for your sake.’ I warned playfully.


He just laughed harder. ‘Of course not, my feisty nymph.’ He said before kissing my neck, and we resumed our meal.


‘Adam, about your temper.’ I felt him tense almost immediately under my touch, after I uttered those words.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page