top of page
Search

GOLDEN HEART 4

Updated: Nov 2, 2022

JUSTINE WRIGHT…


I wore a floor length black dress with a pair of nude heels, and minimum makeup. I am a huge fan of makeup, but today I had no desire to thicken it as I usually do. I heard a car hooter indicating that Adam was here, so I smoothed my auburn short locks before heading out to meet him taking my 'clutch and keys' along the way.


Adam was leaning on his fancy sports car wearing a navy blue suit, looking as dapper as ever. He met me half way, and kissed my forehead before opening the passenger’s seat for me.


‘How was your day?’ He asked when he settled in the car and drove to our destination which I’m yet to know.


‘Good, I guess.’ I replied. ‘How is your headache? Any better?’ I asked.


He looked at me bewildered.


‘What?’ I asked confused myself.


‘How did you know I had a headache? I don’t remember telling you.’ He inquired.


‘Yeah, well I never tell you when I’m in pain yet you always seem to know.’ I answered.


‘So you do care.’ He mumbled barely audible, but I chose not to comment on that.


‘It’s all better now.’ He answered.


‘Adam you really need to stop working until late hours. I know the reason you moved your things into the bedroom in your office was because you wanted to be close to work, but you really need to stop before you ruin your health.’ I chastised sternly.


‘Then you should move in with me, that house is too big for a person to maintain their sanity in, especially if they’re living alone in it.’ He said seriously.


‘I told you that I don’t believe in living with men unless they’re related to me.’


‘Then I’ll have to wait until our marriage to move back in the house.’ He said in a way that said ‘this conversation is over.’


I just scowled at him before turning my attention to the road.


He chuckled at my behaviour. ‘Come on, honey, you’ll just have to wait a week, then I’ll be going home every night.’ He promised.


‘Why wait a week to go to your home?’ I asked.


‘Because it’s not home yet. Now it’s just a house, but that’ll change in a week.’ He said.


‘What is that supposed to mean?’ I asked.


‘Our marriage is arranged to be held in a week time.’ He clarified.


‘What? I thought it was three weeks from now.’ I said not believing what he was saying.


‘Yes, but mom called me yesterday saying that she had to leave the country in a week, and she won’t be coming back before some time. So she asked if we could hold the wedding before she’s gone.’ He explained.


‘But I thought we still have sometime, that’s why I was taking things slowly.’ I said.


‘Everything can be arranged in time with money, you just have to say the word.’ He said. ‘Unless of course you were planning on having cold - feet.’ Adam said amusedly,.


‘No, it’s just all of these changes are overwhelming surprising.’ I sighed. ‘Does that mean you haven’t answered her yet?’ I asked.


‘Yes, I told her I would ask you first, then I’ll get back to her.’ He said.


I really like how understanding, and caring he is towards my thoughts and emotions. He never does anything before asking for my opinion, even the tiniest of things. Work related or not he always makes sure to seek my opinion.


‘Okay then. I suppose a week or two earlier are nothing, since we are going to get married anyway. We’ll just have to notify the guests and the hotel about the date changes, reschedule all of your meetings, call the florist, and the other workers about the changes too. Oh God, that seems a lot of work to do in one week.’ I said already feeling tired.


A CLUTCH IS A SMALL BAG



TO BE CONTINUED....

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page