top of page
Search

"CATCH THE WIND IN YOUR SAILS"

With a wave and an air kiss, he disappeared inside the airplane. I took a deep breath and walked toward my car. He promised me he would only be away for a couple of months. As he had prepared for his trip he told me, “We can wait to get married. This is a great opportunity for me…for us.” “But Isle’s so far away. What if something goes wrong when you’re diving in the water? What if your air supply gets cut off?” I wrung my hands as I watched him pack his duffle bag with long underwear and wool socks. “Nothing will happen, Francesca. Mark and I have taken every precaution. We even shipped up our own boat, so we have control of when and how long we go out. If a storm comes up, we’ll get back to shore immediately.” “Storm? What storm?” My heart beat double time. He shook his head. “Yes its springtime, but we’re talking about the Pacific Ocean. Things happen.” Scuba diving for herring roe was a seasonal event, and if circumstances were just right, a person could sell their catch and make good money. The previous year, Jeff had made a substantial amount. He had been employed by a wholesale company, but this year, he and a partner were on their own, eliminating the middleman. Once I got home from the airport, I pulled out my wedding planner and studied the checklist. I would have the entire wedding arranged when Jeff returned. I had preferred a spring wedding, but he asked me to wait, so we decided on March. At the end of the week, I checked my mailbox. No word from Jeff. Anytime I left the house, the first thing I did when I returned, was check the answering machine on my phone. But day after day there was no news from him. I prayed continuously. Lord, please let me hear from him. I need to know that he is safe. Finally, after an entire month, a letter arrived. I grabbed it from the mailbox and hurried inside. Dear Francesca, Mark and I have worked long days on getting our share of the herring roe. It has been exhausting. The weather’s freezing, so I’m thankful for my dry suit that keeps me warm when I’m deep in the icy water. We met some of the natives that live in the village here when we went to buy some more food for Mark. He has a huge appetite! The people are friendly. I need to get some sleep now. I miss you. Love, Jeff A tear trickled down my cheek. I stared at the letter. When is he coming back? As I finished cleaning the dishes that evening, the phone rang. I picked it up. “Francesca!” My mother shouted. “Mother, what’s wrong? Is Dad okay?” My heart raced. “Yes, we’re fine. It’s what they said on the television news. There’s a huge storm in Isle, and a ship is lost at sea. There has been no contact for hours.” I exhaled the breath I’d been holding. “Mother, Jeff is okay. He’s not on a ship. He has his own boat.” “Yes, I’m aware of that. But the storm hit the entire Isle’s coast. If he was out in it…. Oh, Francesca, I hope you’re right. I hope and pray he’s okay.” I lowered myself onto a chair and breathed deeply. Lord, let him be safe. “There’s no need to assume the worst, Mother. I have to believe God is protecting him.” I hung up the phone and dropped to my knees. I know you are in control Father. Help me trust you. The news stations briefly covered the raging storm in the Pacific that evening. I watched intently in case there would be an update. There was no way to reach Jeff. The ringing of the phone woke me. The sun was rising as I stumbled from the couch and grabbed the receiver. “Hello!” There was static on the line. I heard a muffled voice. “Francesca, it’s me. Can you hear me? I’m coming home.” Thank you, God! “Yes, Jeff. I can hear you.” “I’m sorry, Francesca.” His voice cracked. “Why?” I shouted into the receiver. “We won’t make a profit this year; the crop is sparse, and the weather’s bad.” I swallowed and gripped the receiver. “I’m sorry I made you wait to get married.” I smiled. “It’s okay. Just come home.” "You are the Captain of your own ship: Don't let anyone else take the wheel."

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page