top of page
Search

GUILTY 16

CONTINUED FROM LAST NIGHT…. My thoughts drift to dangerous territories, perhaps it was a child paedophile. Or a sadistic psychopath who likes babies. I try not to think like that, but I can’t help it. I pray for her. I pray that she is safe and will be returned home to us soon. The doctor has been lingering since he arrived last night. He kept his distance, but watched from a close parameter, making sure he was aware of everything I did, right until the minute I crawled into bed. Winston slept in our bed last night. I guess he couldn’t claim the couch again since the overnight officer was there, the Doctor in the spare room. They’re invading our home. It doesn’t even feel like a home right now - more like a crime scene. But I guess that’s what it is. I tried to talk to him before bed. But after his latest conversation with Gerald, my husband is even more paranoid than he was before, thinking I did something to our daughter. No matter how many times I tell him that someone abducted our baby - that she’s out there somewhere - he won’t even look at me. I yearn for the moment that they find whoever did this. Then he will look at me and tell me how sorry he is to have ever doubted me. I need him to just look at me. To hold me. To love me. I shower, throw on some clothes, and sluggishly wander into kitchen. Sergeant Sol sits at my kitchen table, reading the newspaper. She glances up for half a second, gives me a short smile, then returns to her reading. I try to block out her presence. It’s fairly early, just past seven, and Doctor Eilsteen hasn’t appeared in my sights yet, thank God. The sight of him alone causes my blood pressure to skyrocket. After sipping my coffee and checking the internet and news websites for any updates, the doorbell rings. When I open the door, I’m not surprised to see Detective Sullivan standing there, looking as though he got three hours of sleep, tops. ‘Find anything?’ I ask. ‘I’m afraid not. May I come in?’ I nod my head and he steps inside, He greets Sergeant Sol, then heads over to the living room, takes a seat on the couch. I follow behind, perching myself on the pleather chair. ‘Listen,’ I begin. ‘I don’t really think it’s necessary having all these officers here.’ ‘With all due respect, Danny, I don’t think you’re in position to make that call.’ I’m taken back by the venom in his voice. Is this the same Gerald who was so kind to me the night of the abduction? But then I remember that, that Gerald is gone. Replaced by someone else. ‘I’m telling you, you have it all wrong. I did not do anything to my Daughter!’ He looks over in the direction of Sergeant Sol, who has her head down as she reads, dismissing me. Dismissing my excuses. ‘I spoke with Doctor Kelvin last night,’ he turns to face me again. ‘And?’ My heart leaps. ‘He seems to remain firm in his beliefs that this was an abduction. However, we’re not ruling out anything just yet. I understand that you’re stressed and upset, and you’re going through a very difficult time right now. But you also need to understand that it is my job to find your daughter. And I will do whatever means necessary to bring that child home, And if that means keeping you in here under tight supervision, then so be it.’ I close my eyes, his words sending a blow to my chest. ‘Alright.’ ‘I’m sorry if this upsets you. But it’s what needs to be done.’ ‘Fine, I understands,’ I meet his eyes, searching for any sign of recognition, compassion. ‘Just find my daughter.’ He nods his head, clears his throat. ‘How is your husband today?’ ‘Fine, I guess. He won’t talk to me. He’s still sleeping. He must be exhausted, out searching for Emerald all day.’ ‘He was out looking for Emerald?’ ‘Yeah ….’ I glance up at him, slightly confused. ‘He said he was the police, helping them look for her.’ ‘Well, he wasn’t with any of my guys. In fact, no one saw your husband at all yesterday. They assumed he was here, hiding out in his room most of the day.’ My heart stammers in my chest. ‘Winston wasn’t here. I was here. All day. While he was out looking for our daughter!’ ‘I see,’ he pauses. ‘Perhaps he was out by himself, then.’ ‘No, he told me he was with the police.’ ‘I don’t know what to tell you, Mrs Waters’. None of my men saw him.’ I let this information sink in once more. ‘I’ll have to talk to him then. If he even speaks to me.’ ‘Yes, You probably should.’ The doorbell rings around nine o’clock and Gerald answers it. He’s been going over some files at the kitchen table with Sergeant Sol. I made them scrambled eggs, adding the frying pan to the pile of dirty dishes that I don’t plan on doing. I am so certain that it’s just going to be another cop at the door that when I hear her voice, I almost don’t register. I turn my head and crane my neck to see; it’s Savannah. I drop my phone on the counter and rush over to her. She turns head, eyes widened when she sees me. I fall into her and wrap my arms around her neck, and before I realize, I’m crying, yet again. ‘I’m sorry, Danny,’ she grasps my hands. Gerald closes the door and lingers behind us. ‘I’m Detective Sullivan,’ he says, sticking out his hand. ‘And you are?’ ‘Savannah Visagie.’ She shakes his hand. ‘Ah, you must be from District Systems?’ ‘Yes,’ she nods. ‘Would you mind if we chat shortly? I’ll give you a few minutes.’ ‘Yes, of course. Whatever I can do to help.’ Winston has showered and is making his way to the home - office to talk with Charles Ashby. Savannah and I pass him as we walk down the hallway towards my bedroom. I nod to her, telling her to go ahead without me, then I grab hold of my husband’s arm in passing. He looks at me. ‘Where the hell were you yesterday?’ I ask in a hushed whisper. ‘How many times do I have to tell you this?’ ‘Gerald said he didn’t see you. None of them did.’ He stares at me defiantly, Officer Ashby waiting to our left. ‘Doesn’t matter what they saw,’ he says. ‘I was out there looking for our daughter.’ We hold eye contact for a moment. ‘I have to go.’ he breaks from my grasp and heads into the office, closing the door behind them. I make my way to my bedroom and close the door behind me, relieved to finally get some privacy away from the watchful eyes in my home. ‘How are you holding up?’ Savannah asks once we’ve sat at the edge of my bed, her sympathetic eyes lingering over mine. ‘I’m alright. It’s just …it’s so hard.’ my throat feels raw and the tears begin to spill all over again. I can’t hold it in. ‘Oh, sweetie.’ She brings me close and hugs me tight. I sniffle, leaning into her neck as I cry. Once she lets go, I reach over to the nightstand and grab a tissue to dab my eyes. ‘Do they have any leads?’ ‘Not really. Well, they have one person they’re pretty set on.’ ‘Who?’ ‘ME.’ ‘You? Are they crazy?’ ‘No, but apparently I am.’ ‘Oh, that’s ridiculous. You didn’t do a thing to your daughter. That’s fucking …’ ‘I know, I know. That’s what I keep telling them. But they don’t believe me. They think I had a psychotic break or something.’ ‘Well, are they still looking for her?’ ‘Yes, simultaneously holding me here an searching for her elsewhere.’ ‘God, I can’t imagine what you’re going through. This must be horrible.’ ‘It is. It really is. And what’s even worse? Winston won’t speak to me. He blames me as well.’ ‘No…’ ‘Yeah.’ ‘He’s your husband! He’s supposed to stand by your side.’ ‘Yeah, well I guess it’s a little hard when I’ve been so scattered the past few months.’ ‘Honey, none of that was your fault. And besides, you’re all better now. The psychiatrists cleared you a while back now. You’re fine! How can they even think that?’ ‘I guess crazy people don’t instantly get cured.’ ‘You’re not crazy.’ I take in a deep breath. ‘Yeah, well, tell them that.’ ‘I will. That cop wants to speak with me.’ ‘He’s a detective.’ She gives me a look. ‘Same shit….’ ‘But please, tell them. Anything. I need them to believe me.’ ‘I will, Danny. Don’t worry. We’ll figure this out.’ ------------------ Detective Gerald Sullivan Saturday May 20,2016 I wait in the living room for Danny and her friend to finish talking. Then I will need to talk to the friend myself. While I wait, I take out my notepad and scan through the list of names. Liam Cruze. I need to call the brother. I check my watch. It’s almost eleven. I find the phone number and dial it into my phone. ‘Hello?’ he answers. ‘Yes, hello, is this Liam Cruze?’ ‘This is. Who’s asking?’ ‘Detective Sullivan from the Davenmore Police Station. Do you mind if I ask you some questions about your sister, Danny Waters, regarding the disappearance of her daughter, Emerald?’ The line is silent and I almost think he hung up. ’Um, Yeah. Of course.’ ‘You are aware of her disappearance, yes?’ ‘Yes, my parents called yesterday morning.’ ‘You live in Springbok, correct? Were you planning on coming out here?’ ‘Yes, Well, I don’t know. My family’s not close. We don’t really talk much.’ ‘Is that so? Because just yesterday I spoke to your entire family in one house.’ Silence again. ’Everyone’s there?’ ‘They are. Probably wondering where you are. Aren’t you the least bit concerned about what is happening with your niece?’ ‘I am.’ He pauses. ’Shit, you probably think I’m a horrible person. It’s not like that. My wife and I were trying to find someone to watch the kids so we could drive out this weekend.’ ‘Is that so?’ ‘Yes.’ ‘Why not bring the kids with you?’ ‘I don’t want them to have to deal with this. It will upset them.’ ‘So in that case, are you still planning on coming out here?’ ‘Yes, I mean, we’re trying.’ ‘Trying. Alright.’ I debate whether he’s telling the truth, or if its just a lie he made up on the spot. ‘You said you have some questions?’ he asks. ‘Yes, I know you say you’re not close with your family, but do you happen to know anyone who may have anything against your sister or her husband? Anyone who may want money? Someone looking for revenge from the past, perhaps?’ ‘No, not that I can think of. They’re good people. Danny’s never really had any enemies. Then again, she’s never really had that many friends either.’ ‘So I’ve heard.’ ‘She’s kind of quiet. Introverted really. Likes to keep to herself.’ ‘So you can’t think of anyone who might want to hurt her?’ ‘No. Not one person.’ ‘Are you aware of her blackouts? From childhood, that is.’ The line is quiet for a moment. ’Not really. I was only a kid when she started getting them. My parents told me about it years later. They said not to bring it up around her. I guess it’s a touchy subject.’ ‘So you don’t remember much from that year? She was eleven, you must have been, what, nine?’ ‘Eight. Yeah, I was young. Like I said, I don’t remember much.’ ‘Do you remember a boy from your neighbourhood? Immanuel, Manny?’ ‘Barely. There were lots of kids we used to hang out with.’ ‘So you haven’t heard from anyone over the years?’ ‘No,. After college I moved out of town. Didn’t really keep in touch with anyone.’ ‘When was the last time you saw your sister?’ ‘Um, it must have been three years ago. Just after Clayton was born. She and Winston came down to see him.’ ‘But other than that, you don’t talk?’ ‘No, not really.’ ‘But to your knowledge, she and Winston seemed happy? No enemies or financial problems? Nothing out of the ordinary?’ He pauses again and I can hear the sound of his nails scratching the stubble on his face. ‘No. Nothing out of the ordinary. Except …I guess, one thing worth mentioning. I talked to Danny about a month ago. She called for my birthday,’ another pause. ’She said things weren’t going too well with her and Winston. Seemed like things were going downhill.’ ‘Downhill? What do you mean?’ ‘I don’t know, really. She was crying, saying she felt like things are over between them. Like he changed or something. After her postpartum.’ ODD, Everyone else I spoke to seemed to say only good things about the Happy Couple. Could there have been trouble in paradise? ‘Did she say anything else?’ I ask. ‘Not really. She was crying. Said she missed me and wished I called more.’ ‘So you think things weren’t going well for them?’ ‘Didn’t sound like it.’ ‘Alright.’ I glance at my watch. ’Thank you for your time, Mr Cruze. I will call you if I have any other questions.’ I Hang up the phone, a string of disordered thoughts roaming around my mind. Why didn’t Danny mention this before? She made it seem like everything was fine between them. And no one else that I spoke to seemed to have anything negative to say. Only positive things. They are so happy. So in Love, Picture - Perfect. It’s possible that no one knew. It’s also possible that they sorted things out. Liam said he spoke with Danny a month ago. Could they have sorted out whatever problems they were facing by then?’ We walk into the office just as Ashby and Winston are leaving. Savannah Visagie follows behind me, looks around for a chair, then decides to stand - lean against the desk. I stand adjacent to her and bring out my notepad. ‘Ms Visagie,’ I begin. ’Were you born with that surname?’ ‘No,’ a coy smile appears. ’I was born a Howard. But that name brings back terrible memories. My parents were not good people. I had it legally changed when I was eighteen.’ ‘What made you choose Visagie?’ ‘I’ve always thought it was a lovely word.’ ‘It is indeed,’ I break momentarily. ’How long have you known Danny?’ ‘A couple of years now,’ ‘So you’ve been with District Systems long?’ ‘Three years. I met her when I first started.’ ‘I see. How do you like working there?’ ‘I love it. I’m really happy there. My job is pretty awesome, so,’ ‘Does Danny have many other friends at work?’ ‘Um, sort of. I mean, there’s work - friends, and then there’s friends - you - see - at - work. Danny and I are friends both inside the office walls, and outside. We have a closer friendship. But then there’s the work - friends, who you are friendly with, but your relationship doesn’t extend beyond the office.’ ‘Is she close with many other of your co - workers, besides you?’ ‘Our one friend, Tessa. But she’s always busy with her family and doesn’t come out too much anymore. Other than that, I don’t think Danny is close with many others. She’s very reserved - likes to keep to herself and such.’ ‘Were you aware of her postpartum psychosis?’ ‘Yes, I came to visit her a few times. I know how difficult it was for her.’ ‘So you’re familiar with Emerald and the family?’ ‘Yes, somewhat. Emerald is a darling. Looks just like Danny.’ She stops for a moment, looking down at her feet. ‘I can’t believe this is happening.’ She meets my eyes. ‘Who would do such a thing?’ ‘That’s what I’m here to find out. Are you close with her husband?’ ‘I wouldn’t say close. He’s a nice guy. But when Danny and I get together, he’s usually not around, or she’s trying to escape the household, if you know what I mean.’ ‘No, I don’t.’ She pauses and smiles. ‘You know… all marriages need a break sometimes. So we like to go out and just have fun.’ ‘Define fun?’ ‘Go out, have a few drinks, see a movie maybe. Danny likes going to the movies.’ ‘Do you do this often?’ ‘No, not really. But like I said, sometimes a wife just need to get away and let loose sometimes.’ This comment strikes me as odd. Danny doesn’t seem like the type to go out and let loose. She’s conservative, likes her privacy. From what I can tell, at least. ‘Other than the times you say she needs to let loose, how would you describe their marriage?’ ‘Healthy. Honest. I’m not around that much to be a good judge of that, but from what I can see on the occasion that I do, they seem fine. Happy.’ ‘Yes, From what I can tell.’ ‘Does Danny ever talk about her marriage? Or Emerald?’ ‘Not really. As I said, we try to escape from our personal lives.’ ‘So Danny has never mentioned anything negative about her marriage? Wanting to escape it? Mentioned anything that made her upset?’ ‘No. Nothing. She and Winston are fine. What I meant by escaping was just, you know, girl time. Every woman needs it.’ ‘Are you married?’ ‘Heavens no.’ ‘You say that like marriage is a bad thing.’ She laughs, her white teeth exposed through pink lips. ‘Not necessarily a bad thing. Just not for me. I don’t like to be tied down.’ ‘I see. So you steer clear from all relationships?’ ‘I didn’t say that. I have boyfriends. Monthly, annually, whatever. They don’t usually stick around long.’ ‘Why is that?’ She shrugs. ‘I’m just not big on commitment.’ ‘Alright, and do you know if Danny or Winston have any enemies? Someone who might want to do something like this?’ ‘God no. They’re both good people. I can’t even imagine why someone would take a child. A baby. Its’ horrible.’ ‘One last question, Ms Visagie. Why did it take you a day and a half to come over here? I mean, I’d assumed since you and Danny are close, you would have come over yesterday. Or the night Emerald went missing, even.’ She stares at me for a moment. ‘She didn’t call me until yesterday, and I was out of town at a business meeting.’ ‘Business meeting? Whereabouts?’ ‘Oh, I guess I should have mentioned this before, I’m a wedding planner, on the side. I was meeting with a couple yesterday out in Jhburg.’ She explains. I write this down, and wonder why exactly she didn’t mention it before. ‘So the earliest I could come was today. I came as soon as I could.; This investigation is going absolutely nowhere. No evidence. No solid leads. Nothing. All I have is a successful drug - bust, a mysterious car, and a desperate - to - prove - her - innocence mother. SO, nothing. I need to get back to my office, get some caffeine, and figure this out. The first forty - eight hours are almost up and the clock is ticking. We’re running out of time. I tell Danny that I’ll keep her updated, then I give Ashby a wave before I head out. I’m walking to the car, which is parked on the street, when I see the man next door knelt down in his garden. Looks like he’s digging up weeds. This must be the neighbour Danny mentioned before. Allan, I think it was. Ashby and Holden did preliminary statements with all of the neighbours yesterday, but I should speak with him, get a feel for myself. ‘Good Morning,’ I say, standing over him. He squints up at me, hand above his eyes to block the sun. ‘Oh, Hi there!’ He stands up quickly. ‘You must be investigating the disappearance of the Waters’ girl.’ ‘I am, I’m Detective Sullivan. Do you mind if I ask you a few questions?’ ‘Of course! I’m Allan. Allan Harvey,’ he sticks out his hand, then realizes instantaneously that his glove is filled with dirt from gardening. He rips it off his hand, laughs slightly and sticks his hand back out. I give it a firm shake. ‘How well do you know the Waters?’ I ask. ‘Just about as well as you can know a neighbour. I mean, we’re not super close or anything. But we’re friendly. They come over to our place in the summertime for braais. My wife and Danny get along well, They love their soap operas.’ ‘What is your wife’s name?’ ‘Gillian.’ I write this down. ‘Would you say that Mr and Mrs Waters get along well?’ ‘Oh yes, lovely couple they are. Always very cheerful and upbeat. Like one of those picture - perfect families you see on TV. They have good - paying jobs, a big fancy house, the white picket fence, one little girl. They’re living the Dream.’ ‘So they don’t argue or fight?’ ‘Not that I know of. Every time they’ve been to my place they’re always cuddled up in each other’s arms.’ ‘Do you and your wife ever go to their place?’ ‘Erm, not really. Been there once for a Christmas get - together. Nice place. They had renovations done about two years ago. Real nice kitchen,’ he pauses. ‘I actually haven’t seen them around as often as before. I saw the baby a few times, whenever Winston would bring her out. But I haven’t seen Danny. Winston said she was sick recently?’ ‘Yes. She wasn’t well for a few months.’ ‘Oh, is she alright now?’ ‘I believe so.’ ‘Do you know what she was sick with?’ ‘I’m not really at liberty to say. I just have one last question, then I’ll let you go.’ ‘Sure, what is it?’ ‘Do you happen to know anyone that owns a red Impala? Or have you seen one in this area before?’ ‘Hmmm, red Impala? Not that I can recall.’ ‘What about on Thursday afternoon? Could you recall if you saw any unfamiliar vehicles on the street?’ He thinks about this. ‘Uhh, nope, Nothing out of the ordinary.’ He glances out towards their driveway. ‘Just those two cars that are in the driveway now.’ I follow his gaze and spot Danny’s BMW as well as the white Ford Explorer that Savannah pulled up in. ‘Those two vehicles there?’ I ask. ‘Are you sure? Mr Waters drives a Mercedes.’ ‘I’m fairly certain, because my wife wants one of those Explorers in white. I haven’t seen it around lately, assumed it was new.’ ‘What time did you see the vehicle there?’ ‘It musta been around noon, because I was taking my daughter back to school from her lunch break.’ ‘Twelve o’clock? On Thursday? You’re certain?’ ‘Yes, Why what ----’ I turn away from Allan and dart back across the lawn, up the steps and into the house. Savannah lied to me. If what Allan said is true, then that means she was at the house Thursday morning. Fifteen minutes after Danny logged out of work for the day and never logged back in…..

TO BE CONTINUED….


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 21   Kimberly leaned a shoulder on the wall while she chatted to her work friend Naomi, during her allocated telephone call time....

KIMMY'S LIST

CHAPTER 20   Jax wedged the phone between his shoulder and ear while he continued to scribble notes. ‘OK. That’s great. I appreciate you...

CHAPTER 19 - CONTINUED

Jax positioned himself in front of the TV waiting for the news feed to loop back around. He sipped on his coffee, waiting.   ‘The Dawn...

Comments


All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page